"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Brutal Truth - "End Time" (CD)

Brutal Truth - "End Time" CD cover image

"End Time" track listing:

1. Malice (3:27)
2. Simple Math (1:26)
3. End Time (1:58)
4. Fuck Cancer (:59)
5. Celebratory Gunfire (1:28)
6. Small Talk (1:41)
7. .58 Caliber (:54)
8. Swift And Violent (Swift Version) (:47)
9. Crawling Man Blues (1:41)
10. Lottery (1:11)
11. Warm Embrace Of Poverty (3:47)
12. Old World Order (1:25)
13. Butcher (2:55)
14. Killing Planet Earth (1:28)
15. Gut-Check (2:36)
16. All Work And No Play (1:35)
17. Addicted (2:04)
18. Sweet Dreams (1:31)
19. Echo Friendly Discharge (1:49)
20. Twenty Bag (:45)
21. Trash (:05)
22. Drink Up (3:43)
23. Control Room (15:21)

Reviewed by on September 24, 2011

"Many grind acts have been influenced by Brutal Truth, and new bands would be wise to use 'End Time' as an example on how to make grind with substance and noise with an agenda."

Brutal Truth roared back into existence with 2009’s “Evolution Through Revolution.” 12 years can change any band, but Brutal Truth stuck to what made them pioneers with “Extreme Conditions Demand Extreme Responses.” Fans didn’t have to wait nearly as long for a follow-up, and “End Time” is pretty much what one would expect the band to deliver at this point late in the game. The band’s speciality is sizzling grind, which is dished out in mass on “End Time.” It’s not as well-conditioned as the last album, but is done with a degree of professionalism and wit.

Like every other album the band has produced, “End Time” has a fair grasp of what has made grind an endearing genre for years. Richard Hoak is one of the best drummers to perform this style of music, and his beats are as tight and confounding as they were 20 years ago. Kevin Sharp has gotten better with age, and his voice has not lost any of its spunk. Dan Lilker plucks that bass with rapid momentum, as guitarist Erik Burke lays down chunky riffs that somehow keep pace with Hoak and Lilker.

So the musical side of the band is still at a top tier. How about the songwriting? Well, that’s a murkier subject to discuss. At this point, most know what to expect from a Brutal Truth album. “End Time” does nothing to shake that opinion, though opener “Malice” has a “Birth Of Ignorance” feel that signals the potenital for something substantial. However, “Simple Math” breaks that notion apart and gets back into the grind state. These type of songs are done with an experienced hand, though leave few surprises behind.

The noise/ambient material is more influential, and better paced, than on “Evolution Through Revolution.” It’s a worthy investment taken on tracks like “Warm Embrace Of Poverty” and “Drink Up.” They come in at the right times, just as the forceful grind tracks begin to start splicing together. However, closer “Control Room” is an error of judgment on Brutal Truth’s part. 15 minutes of aimless jamming, full of feedback and noise, is not a wise move to end the album.

Take “Control Room” out of the equation and “End Time” is another slamming output from Brutal Truth. Consistency like this is hard to come by in metal today, and the fact that the band is still going strong after two decades is reassuring. Many grind acts have been influenced by Brutal Truth, and new bands would be wise to use “End Time” as an example on how to make grind with substance and noise with an agenda.

Highs: Lots of classic grind, a few more lofty ambient sections, top-notch musicianship, especially from drummer Richard Hoak

Lows: More of the same from the band and "Control Room" falls flat on its face

Bottom line: The Brutal Truth reunion continues to produce great grind tracks that don't re-invent the wheel, but hit very hard.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls
3.5 out of 5 skulls

Rating Description
Rated 5 out of 5 skulls Perfection. (No discernable flaws; one of the reviewer's all-time favorites)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls Near Perfection. (An instant classic with some minor imperfections)
Rated 4 out of 5 skulls Excellent. (An excellent effort worth picking up)
Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls Good. (A good effort, worth checking out or picking up)
Rated 3 out of 5 skulls Decent. (A decent effort worth checking out if the style fits your tastes)
Rated 2.5 out of 5 skulls Average. (Nothing special; worth checking out if the style fits your taste)
Rated 2 out of 5 skulls Fair. (There is better metal out there)
< 2 skulls Pretty Bad. (Don't bother)