"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Kill The Client - "Set for Extinction" (CD)

Kill The Client - "Set for Extinction" CD cover image

"Set for Extinction" track listing:

1. No Leaders (2:35)
2. Questions To A Brick Wall (0:55)
3. Dig Two Graves (1:00)
4. As Roaches (1:20)
5. Pressing The Flesh (0:36)
6. Conflict Within (0:57)
7. Pandemic (2:07)
8. Vicious Slaughter (1:06)
9. Final Days (1:09)
10. Postmortem Exoneration (1:48)
11. Industry of Fear (1:47)
12. No Justice No Fear (2:01)
13. Targets In Straightjackets (0:52)
14. Primetime Dogma (1:40)
15. Death of Reality (1:07)
16. The Walking Dead (1:22)
17. Purveyors of Death (1:03)
18. Customer Service (1:21)
19. Cull The Herd (1:30)

Reviewed by on December 18, 2010

"In true grindcore fashion, Kill the Client storms through 19 songs in 27 near indescribably black and blasting yet socially conscious minutes."

Trying to sum up “Set for Extinction,” Dallas grinders Kill the Client's first full length record since 2008's “Cleptocracy” and third LP overall, is like searching for the strongest word for bleak that doesn't yet exist but should be invented for the sole purpose of describing this album. In true grindcore fashion, Kill the Client storms through 19 songs in 27 near indescribably black and blasting yet socially conscious minutes. It's like taking the nickel tour of the dark side of humanity with tooth picks shoved under your eyelids to keep you from averting your gaze from the atrocities of man.

Leading off the album is “No Leaders,” with a rolling machinery of death intro that leans heavily on gritty pinch harmonics and rolls into the blast like a bilious black cloud. Vocalist Champ Morgan brings a mix of a Swedish death metal and grind mid-range delivery, but he's not alone in the vocal department. Guitarist Chris Richardson backs him up from time to time with well placed high shrieks. From there on out it’s a mix of crust, punk, and black grind with stark images of abject hopelessness and rollicking fury set to Kill the Client's grinding precision and economy of sound.

Tracks such as “As Roaches” exhibit the full range of Kill the Client's influences, drawing from old school grind fathers like Assuck and Terrorizer while offering their own take on raw throated, finger shredding intensity. Compelling build ups are utilized effectively, and the band's crusty side is always just around the darkened corner, lurking in the shadows. Even if you can't see it, you can smell its pure, unclean grit. There's almost a dirty death metal vibe to certain songs, like “Pandemic,” which showcases the band's brash side and drummer Brian Fajardo's razor sharp rolls. Hints at more death metal infused punk influences are revealed further in title and sound alike in “No Justice No Peace,” a title which begets a cross between Immolation's “No Jesus No Beast” and Amebix's “No Gods No Masters.” Maybe that's why the pinch harmonics sound so familiar. It's pure Immolation.

There's no time for down time on this one. It's about being simple, effective, and precise with intensity and rage that maintains a laser-like focus on the intended target. It's both surgical and blunt at the same time, polished yet dirty, out of control but contained; all oxymora that can be explained away simply by cuing up the tracks “Final Days” and “Industry of Fear.” At times it can seem like the same old blast over and over again, but Kill the Client, which is rounded out by James Delgado's capable work on the bass, has a way about it - an unshakable focus on the blackened end of their sound - that makes it stick. Lyrics such as the unreservedly screamed “soul crushing reality” from “The Walking Dead” seem to encompass the world view of the band, and it's in this song that Morgan reaches down, down, down to the low end of his vocal repertoire to dredge up some lowest of the low death vocals.

In the end what we're left with is a near-30 minute slab of pure hatred, contempt, and despair that is bursting at the stitches of its own gaping wounds, allowing said traits to seep through like so many bodily fluids. A late but worthy addition to 2010's “Best of” lists.

Highs: This is some of the bleakest, most emotionally intense grind in recent memory.

Lows: There's no real weak point to speak of, save for the somewhat repetitious blast, but what would you expect from grind?

Bottom line: Any true grind fan will find this a more than worthy addition to their collection.

Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls
4.5 out of 5 skulls

Rating Description
Rated 5 out of 5 skulls Perfection. (No discernable flaws; one of the reviewer's all-time favorites)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls Near Perfection. (An instant classic with some minor imperfections)
Rated 4 out of 5 skulls Excellent. (An excellent effort worth picking up)
Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls Good. (A good effort, worth checking out or picking up)
Rated 3 out of 5 skulls Decent. (A decent effort worth checking out if the style fits your tastes)
Rated 2.5 out of 5 skulls Average. (Nothing special; worth checking out if the style fits your taste)
Rated 2 out of 5 skulls Fair. (There is better metal out there)
< 2 skulls Pretty Bad. (Don't bother)