"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Titans Eve - "The Divine Equal" (CD)

Titans Eve - "The Divine Equal" CD cover image

"The Divine Equal" track listing:

1. Mourning Star
2. Judgement
3. Becoming The Demon
4. Into the Fire
5. Serpent Rising
6. Tides Of Doom
7. Dusk
8. Nightfall
9. Living Lifeless
10. Searching for Nothing
11. The Divine Equal

Reviewed by on December 28, 2010

"'The Divine Equal' presents an opportunity for the band to save underground thrash metal from its current 'nu-thrash' moniker and that in itself is something exciting."

Titans Eve has slowly been making its way up the ranks in the local Vancouver metal scene over the past couple of years. Known for its energetic live performances, the band has been steadily building up its notoriety, providing an infectious and memorable take on thrash metal. On its debut full-length release, "The Divine Equal," Titans Eve provides nine thrashy and melodic songs, as well as two finely crafted instrumentals, that have the potential to take the band to all new heights. "The Divine Equal" presents an opportunity for the band to save underground thrash metal from its current "nu-thrash" moniker and that in itself is something exciting.

Having shared the stage with veteran bands like Exodus, Finntroll, and Moonsorrow, its apparent that Titans Eve isn’t your typical pub level local act, and the band demonstrates that with "The Divine Equal." The music on this debut is a firestorm of pummeling thrash metal. "Judgement" is a fantastic album opener that leaves a long and lasting impression while also setting up the rest of the record perfectly. Everything from the opening riff to the power metal influenced lead guitars and the catchy chorus create an impressive metal anthem. The energy from "Judgement" carries on throughout the rest of the record and helps to maintain a level of head banging that will surely cause permanent neck damage.

There are only a few minor problems with "The Divine Equal." One issue that is more prominent is the backing vocals that are featured throughout several of the album's tracks. The backing vocals tend to sound weak when held up against the ferocious bark of front man Brian Gamblin. This is only minor though, and in many cases the backing vocals are even drowned out completely with the band's monstrous sound. Other than the backing vocals and the occasional quietness of the drums, "The Divine Equal" is still an impressive debut.

With a firm live history behind the band, it is without doubt that Titans Eve will continue on its ever-growing rampage. "The Divine Equal" offers up an intriguing alternative to the current "nu-thrash" trend and represents a definitive old-school sound without failing to maintain a modern charm. The riffs are fast and technical, the vocals are upfront, and the solos are blistering while memorable. Not to mention each track has the anthem feeling of becoming a sing-along gang chant just waiting to happen. "The Divine Equal" will surely gather up a larger audience for this Vancouver four-piece and Titans Eve will become a name you'll be hearing a lot more of in 2011 and the years to come.

Highs: Nine thrash songs that are heavy, yet actually memorable.

Lows: Some minor backing vocal issues. The drums could be a bit louder in the mix.

Bottom line: For fans of old-school thrash, nu-thrash, and everything inbetween.

Rated 4 out of 5 skulls
4 out of 5 skulls

Rating Description
Rated 5 out of 5 skulls Perfection. (No discernable flaws; one of the reviewer's all-time favorites)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls Near Perfection. (An instant classic with some minor imperfections)
Rated 4 out of 5 skulls Excellent. (An excellent effort worth picking up)
Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls Good. (A good effort, worth checking out or picking up)
Rated 3 out of 5 skulls Decent. (A decent effort worth checking out if the style fits your tastes)
Rated 2.5 out of 5 skulls Average. (Nothing special; worth checking out if the style fits your taste)
Rated 2 out of 5 skulls Fair. (There is better metal out there)
< 2 skulls Pretty Bad. (Don't bother)