"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Kashee Opeiah - "Panic In Solitude" (CD)

Kashee Opeiah - "Panic In Solitude" CD cover image

"Panic In Solitude" track listing:

1. As The Sirens Call
2. Farewell, Endless War!
3. Now That I Am Sated
4. After This Act Of Deliverance
5. Kept By A Numerical Control
6. In The Hour Of Brokeness
7. Similar To A Fairy-Tale
8. Awoken To The Analogy
9. Dare A Leap In The Dark
10. Within The Thoughts Of A Puppet
11. Oh, Endless Ocean! Oh, Poor Me!
12. Even Though It Has To Stop Somehow

Reviewed by on September 4, 2010

"The album is over indulgent in copy and pasted riffs, overly long songs, and generic metalcore vocals."

Its not often you come across a release where the first three tracks kill any momentum the album may have. But Kashee Opeiah does exactly that with “Panic In Solitude.” The album is over indulgent in copy and pasted riffs, overly long songs, and generic metalcore vocals. Clocking in at over an hour long, there is little to justify such an ambitious length but surely a lot to loathe.

While the album does contain a few moments that are worth a repeat listen, there is just too much that holds it back. The entire album is connected like one giant composition without any breaks. The first three tracks “As The Sirens Call,” “Farewell, Endless War!,” and “Now That I Am Sated,” drag on and are exhausting to get through. The length of these songs, and most of the tracks on the record, are absurd, drifting in between the five to nine minute mark. Adding to that is the fact that most songs sound identical to one another with the guitar work seemingly repeating itself through many sections. There is just not enough going on, let alone enough unique sounding material, to maintain interest for an hour worth of European style metalcore.

While the larger chunk of “Panic In Solitude” is a forgettable experience, there are a few redeeming tracks. “In the Hour of Brokenness” has an interesting intro section based around intricate cymbal work. The song as a whole is a more memorable one as it drifts between a mellow guitar sound and the more familiar Gojira like metal vibe. The vocals actually fit in well here and the song is quite good. “Within the Thoughts of a Puppet” is another based around the fusion of more melodic songwriting into the music. Beginning with a softer, eerie spoken word passage, the metal is quickly brought back to the forefront. The addition of a more raspy vocal approach also helps to change things up, ever so slightly, from the majority of the yawn inducing album.

Although including some memorable sections, “Panic In Solitude” for the most part is something to forget. With the album being twelve tracks long, having a playing time of over an hour ,and coming across as being very repetitive it just drags on and on, with no end in sight. As far as metalcore is concerned, this is another one to add to the long list of genre killing albums.

Highs: The more melodic sections do create an interesting, dark atmosphere.

Lows: A lot of the same riffs seem to pop up throughout the hour of material.

Bottom line: An hour of music that seemingly drags on for far longer.

Rated 2 out of 5 skulls
2 out of 5 skulls

Rating Description
Rated 5 out of 5 skulls Perfection. (No discernable flaws; one of the reviewer's all-time favorites)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls Near Perfection. (An instant classic with some minor imperfections)
Rated 4 out of 5 skulls Excellent. (An excellent effort worth picking up)
Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls Good. (A good effort, worth checking out or picking up)
Rated 3 out of 5 skulls Decent. (A decent effort worth checking out if the style fits your tastes)
Rated 2.5 out of 5 skulls Average. (Nothing special; worth checking out if the style fits your taste)
Rated 2 out of 5 skulls Fair. (There is better metal out there)
< 2 skulls Pretty Bad. (Don't bother)