"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Aeon - "Path Of Fire" (CD)

Aeon - "Path Of Fire" CD cover image

"Path Of Fire" track listing:

1. Forgiveness Denied (4:06)
2. Kill Them All (3:12)
3. Inheritance (3:41)
4. Abomination To God (3:45)
5. Total Kristus Inversus (1:38)
6. Of Fire (4:05)
7. I Will Burn (3:14)
8. Suffer The Soul (3:35)
9. The Sacrament (4:22)
10. Liar In The Name Of God (4:16)
11. God Of War (5:53)

Reviewed by on May 26, 2010

"In the race to create ever more brootal death metal, Aeon has wisely eased off the acceleration pedal."

Welcome to death metal lite. Seriously. But let’s explore this more. Most death metal bands have names that evoke some type of grisly or horrible imagery. The word “Aeon” conjures up images of risings suns and untapped potential. This Aeon is a blasphemous (railing against Christ and associated things) death metal band, but instead of masking their blasphemous message in gargled bellows, most of the lyrics are understandable, and aren’t that horrific. The production is such that the constantly intense drumming doesn’t give headaches. These points aren’t slights, but rather praise of the band’s third full length “Path of Fire.”

Starting the album off with the mid-tempo “Forgiveness Denied,” Aeon lays out its entire battle plan in the first song. Constant drumming and blast beating underscore a mostly mid-tempo riffing-chugging. A couple guitar solos work their way in, but they are more tempered than the 32nd note avalanches that many other death metal bands favor. The musical arrangement works well, with the drums more like a pleasant tablecloth instead of a head pummeling. And guitarists Sebastian Nilsson and Daniel Dlimi play off each other quite well, as there is a subtle Iron Maiden quality about the riffs and leads.

The most interesting thing about the music, however, is the tempo changes. Right in the middle of “Kill Them All” the band slows to a glacial doom crawl for mere moments before breaking back into a fierce chug. “Inheritance” works solid syncopated and double timed riffs into the ponderous main riff. These types of changes keep the music rolling and differentiate the songs from each other.

Now Aeon can definitely bring the brutality, particularly on “Suffer The Soul” and “Liar In The Name Of God.” These still have all of Aeon’s trademarks, but focus more on the straight death metal aspect, with Tommy Dahlstom’s layered vocals really driving that point home. And while Dahlstom doesn’t have the best range or overwhelming power, his delivery fits into the band’s overall lite sound. The solos here too are more of the searing variety, and the tempo changes tend to move between “fast” and “faster.” But even so the groove on the second half of “Suffer The Soul” isn’t something to be found on many other death metal albums.

In the race to create ever more brutal death (and black) metal, Aeon has wisely eased off the acceleration pedal whether they meant to or not. By slowing down and bringing more than just riffs and blasts, Aeon and has created an album that is heavy and brutal, but also listenable and enjoyable. Now just ease back on the porch, grab some lemonade, kick your feet up, and enjoy!

Highs: The moves from riffs to solos to bridges on “Forgiveness Denied” are phenomenal.

Lows: Vocalist Dahlstom doesn’t have the range or power to deliver a truly memorable vocal performance.

Bottom line: Death metal that is pretty easy listening, but in a good way.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls
3.5 out of 5 skulls

Rating Description
Rated 5 out of 5 skulls Perfection. (No discernable flaws; one of the reviewer's all-time favorites)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls Near Perfection. (An instant classic with some minor imperfections)
Rated 4 out of 5 skulls Excellent. (An excellent effort worth picking up)
Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls Good. (A good effort, worth checking out or picking up)
Rated 3 out of 5 skulls Decent. (A decent effort worth checking out if the style fits your tastes)
Rated 2.5 out of 5 skulls Average. (Nothing special; worth checking out if the style fits your taste)
Rated 2 out of 5 skulls Fair. (There is better metal out there)
< 2 skulls Pretty Bad. (Don't bother)