"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Diecast - "Internal Revolution" (CD)

Diecast - "Internal Revolution" CD cover image

"Internal Revolution" track listing:

1. Internal Revolution
2. Never Forget
3. Hourglass
4. Fractured
5. Weakness
6. Fade Away
7. Out of Reach
8. S.O.S.
9. Nothing I Could Say
10. Definition of a Hero
11. Coldest Rain

Reviewed by on October 10, 2006

"The band is clearly in a metamorphic state but it’s anyone's guess as to which direction Diecast will ultimately settle upon."

Most would consider an identity crisis to be a bad thing, not Boston based metal-core stalwarts Diecast. The band seem to positively revel in their own confusion. “Internal Revolution” finds Diecast making a bid to be everything to everyone. The band’s forays into piano centric territory conjure Hoobastank to mind while heavier tracks sound like Chimaira waking up on the wrong side of the bed. It’s a disquieting but effective amalgam that is evident throughout the entire disk.

Album opener “Internal Revolution” effectively summarizes what the listener is getting themselves into. Vocalist Paul Stoddard rants like Jamey Jasta and croons like Brandon Boyd amidst blast beats and seesawing thrash guitars. “Never Forget” ratchets up the intensity, eliminating much of the melody, favoring plodding low end rhythms and anguished high pitch screams. In sharp contrast to the previous tracks, “Hourglass” generates plaintive melodic vocals ala Lost Prophets and instrumentation akin to Godsmack. “Hourglass” would do well on rock radio if given a fair chance and sufficient exposure. “S.O.S.” is the albums hardcore anthem, with Hatebreed like chanting and Unearth’s instrumental dynamism. Closing piece “The Coldest Rain” evokes the kind of woe that only a twinkling piano, keening Mellotron and an angst addled 20 something can bring to the fore. The song breaks into power ballad territory at the halfway mark sounding similar to “In the End” by Linkin Park, minus the rapping.

Teetering somewhere between Poison the Well, Lost Prophets and Shadows Fall; Diecast make a valiant effort to charm fans from all corners of the rock and metal spectrum. Lyrics are of typical fair for the genre, sometimes overwrought, occasionally blunt or simplistic but generally convincing. The comparisons of Diecast to so many other bands is both a testament to their skill and range as well as a shortcoming in the bands ability to carve an entirely unique sound. Perhaps inspired by Shadows Fall’s “The War Within”, Diecast’s “Internal Revolution” does in fact live up to it’s name. The band is clearly in a metamorphic state but it’s anyones guess as to which direction Diecast will ultimately settle upon.

Highs: Diecast’s amorphous sound will appeal to those looking for a band that can be alarmingly furious one minute and apologetic or contemplative the next.

Lows: The band's fondness for hooks and swollen clean vocal choruses may stunt their metal cred, despite some genuinely heavy moments. The truly heavy tracks may turn off fans of more accessible rock.

Bottom line: The band's general lack of focus tends to pay off. With time and effort, Diecast could be this generation's Faith No More or Deftones.

Rated 3 out of 5 skulls
3 out of 5 skulls

Rating Description
Rated 5 out of 5 skulls Perfection. (No discernable flaws; one of the reviewer's all-time favorites)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls Near Perfection. (An instant classic with some minor imperfections)
Rated 4 out of 5 skulls Excellent. (An excellent effort worth picking up)
Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls Good. (A good effort, worth checking out or picking up)
Rated 3 out of 5 skulls Decent. (A decent effort worth checking out if the style fits your tastes)
Rated 2.5 out of 5 skulls Average. (Nothing special; worth checking out if the style fits your taste)
Rated 2 out of 5 skulls Fair. (There is better metal out there)
< 2 skulls Pretty Bad. (Don't bother)