"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Textures - "Silhouettes" (CD)

Textures - "Silhouettes" CD cover image

"Silhouettes" track listing:

1. Old Days Born Anew (5:38)
2. The Sun's Architect (5:16)
3. Awake (4:09)
4. Laments of an Icarus (4:12)
5. One Eye for a Thousand (6:12)
6. State of Disobedience (4:11)
7. Storm Warning (5:46)
8. Messengers (5:06)
9. To Erase a Lifetime (6:54)

Reviewed by on October 13, 2009

"'Textures' has its own uniqueness that makes the first listen an enjoyable one."

Hailing from Europe, Textures received much attention from underground metal fans with their 2006 album “Drawing Circles.” Known for their progressive nature and pushing boundaries, this band has earned much respect. "Textures" has its own uniqueness that makes the first listen an enjoyable one, with the music and vocals going in many different directions.

The first track on the album, “Old Days Born Anew,” starts off with some in-your-face riffing that sounds like a crossbreed of Meshuggah, Pantera and Killswitch Engage. The vocals are very aggressive, shifting suddenly to clean singing like many nu-metal bands have done time and time again. Towards the end of the track, the music gets a little melodic before returning to the basic riff that keeps popping up throughout.

The next track on the album, “The Sun’s Architect,” does not really differ much from the first track. The third song “Awake” starts off sounding like hard rock meets Devin Townsend Band (think “Accelerated Evolution”), which is not a bad thing at all. The song takes another turn back to the kind of sound heard on the first track.

The music and vocals get a little more interesting on “Laments of an Icarus." By this point in the album, it is easy to tell that this band has plenty of talent. The band's overall sound has many traceable influences from well respected bands that I have mentioned throughout the review. I think their core sound is mostly related to Killswitch Engage, Hatebreed and Oceansize, but with some other diverse influences that makes them unique.

The vocals have their moments as well. While the lead singer's basic screaming is kind of boring, whenever he changes it up, it makes the song that much better. His vocals are quite impressive on “Storm Warning.”

It is apparent that the band has plenty of talent and can get heads to bang, as well as ponder the music itself. I would like to see a little more thinking man’s metal from a progressive metal band like this, but I don’t hold that against them. The music gives you enough to enjoy from start to finish, and while that may not seem like much, many bands can not properly pull that off.

Highs: The musical diversity and talent the band shows throughout the album.

Lows: The singer's vocals from time to time.

Bottom line: If you haven't heard of this band, then give them a listen. They can appeal to a wide range of metal listeners.

Rated 3 out of 5 skulls
3 out of 5 skulls

Rating Description
Rated 5 out of 5 skulls Perfection. (No discernable flaws; one of the reviewer's all-time favorites)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls Near Perfection. (An instant classic with some minor imperfections)
Rated 4 out of 5 skulls Excellent. (An excellent effort worth picking up)
Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls Good. (A good effort, worth checking out or picking up)
Rated 3 out of 5 skulls Decent. (A decent effort worth checking out if the style fits your tastes)
Rated 2.5 out of 5 skulls Average. (Nothing special; worth checking out if the style fits your taste)
Rated 2 out of 5 skulls Fair. (There is better metal out there)
< 2 skulls Pretty Bad. (Don't bother)