"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

M.O.D. - "Busted, Broke, and America" (CD)

M.O.D. - "Busted, Broke, and America" CD cover image

"Busted, Broke, and America" track listing:

1. Eisenhower Was Right
2. The Final Declaration
3. You’re a Fucking Dick
4. Busted, Broke and American
5. Fight
6. Hooligan
7. Billy Be Damned
8. Shattered Dreams and Broken Glass
9. They
10. All Out of Bubblegum
11. Go Go Revolution
12. Kennedy Speaks

Reviewed by on July 8, 2017

"'Busted, Broke & American' is classic M.O.D. and even after 30th years of existence, this crossover thrash recipe is just as moshtacular as it was on initial offering, 'U.S.A. for M.O.D.'"

Method of Destruction, the afterbirth from Sergeant D’s (AKA Billy Milano) S.O.D. is back. “Busted, Broke & American” is M.O.D.’s 8th full-length album and according to some sources, the band's final. Wait…what?!?...Why??? Hey Billy, if it takes another 10 years to hear new M.O.D., or even 15 years, we’ll wait!!! Please don’t end M.O.D.!

“Busted, Broke & American” is classic M.O.D. and even after 30th years of existence, this crossover thrash recipe is just as moshtacular as it was on initial offering, “U.S.A. for M.O.D.” The songs are high energy, still have a sense of humor and certainly keep pace with the resurgence of thrash metal. Billy is old enough to be some of those band's father, hell, maybe even their grandfather! My point being is that he’s the king of crossover thrash and M.O.D. should be appreciated and respected by those younger peers.

As per most of M.O.D. albums, the songs are sharp, brief and to the point. Some of the more catchy moshers are “You’re a Fucking Dick.” I mean, who doesn’t want to sing the chorus on a crowded subway? My favorite song has to be “Shattered Dreams and Broken Glass.” It’s the punk crossover song with the catchy “Wooooahhhheeeyyyohhh” chorus that you knew was coming at some point during their existence.

After several listens to “Busted, Broke & American," it has the feeling of a final album from the iconic M.O.D. The group left no mosh unturned. The production is top notch, it’s tight, punchy and in your face. “Busted, Broke & American” sounds like band wanting to go out on top. This is bittersweet for this reviewer that started listening to them 30 years ago, but perhaps somewhere down the road, I’ll be pleasantly mistaken.

Highs: Still churning out more mosh than most thrash coming out these days

Lows: This is allegedly the final album….Boooooooooooooo!

Bottom line: “Busted, Broke & American” is classic M.O.D., it’s one of the better albums I’ve heard this year and I wish M.O.D. the best if it is indeed the final album.

Rated 4 out of 5 skulls
4 out of 5 skulls

Rating Description
Rated 5 out of 5 skulls Perfection. (No discernable flaws; one of the reviewer's all-time favorites)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls Near Perfection. (An instant classic with some minor imperfections)
Rated 4 out of 5 skulls Excellent. (An excellent effort worth picking up)
Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls Good. (A good effort, worth checking out or picking up)
Rated 3 out of 5 skulls Decent. (A decent effort worth checking out if the style fits your tastes)
Rated 2.5 out of 5 skulls Average. (Nothing special; worth checking out if the style fits your taste)
Rated 2 out of 5 skulls Fair. (There is better metal out there)
< 2 skulls Pretty Bad. (Don't bother)