"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Omnium Gatherum - "The Red Shift" (CD)

Omnium Gatherum - "The Red Shift" CD cover image

"The Red Shift" track listing:

1. Nail
2. A Shadowkey
3. Chameleon Skin
4. No Breaking Point
5. The Return
6. Shapes And Shades
7. The Redshifter
8. Greeneyes
9. The Second Flame
10. Song For December
11. Distant Light Highway

Reviewed by on July 19, 2009

"...this is not the candy-coated type of melodic death metal one might expect."

An ear for melody and making an agreeable presence is to be found on "The Red Shift," but this is not the candy-coated type of melodic death metal one might expect. Instead an undeniably dark vibe is present and gives the music a nice flavour, though there is also the melodically tuneful aura that permeates the sound. The song “Chameleon Skin” showcases all the different registers they hit quite effectively.

The songs on the album cruise along at a good pace and display all the qualities you would expect from a fairly tight band. There isn’t the cheesy aspect present that you might predict from melodic death metal, but rather a worthy approach. Expect a great deal of energy to lift the songs into a territory that shows more promise. The band is able to convey their mood very properly throughout the length of the disc and this is most evident on the track “Green Eyes,” which shows the band at its most emotive.

Omnium Gatherum is an outfit that has achieved a balance, and one can see there is very little to fault with the compositions. Every moment to be found seems to coalesce nicely with the others to form something complete as a whole. “The Red Shift” is quite consistent in what it has to offer and shows very few holes in its overall presentation.

Fans of good metal in general should find something great to enjoy here, as there is a lot to appreciate and Omnium Gatherum delivers with a style that is all there own and easy to come to grips with.

Highs: A consistent, melodically charged and moody platter

Lows: Things could be more interesting

Bottom line: Excellent melodic death metal with style and substance

Rated 4 out of 5 skulls
4 out of 5 skulls

Rating Description
Rated 5 out of 5 skulls Perfection. (No discernable flaws; one of the reviewer's all-time favorites)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls Near Perfection. (An instant classic with some minor imperfections)
Rated 4 out of 5 skulls Excellent. (An excellent effort worth picking up)
Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls Good. (A good effort, worth checking out or picking up)
Rated 3 out of 5 skulls Decent. (A decent effort worth checking out if the style fits your tastes)
Rated 2.5 out of 5 skulls Average. (Nothing special; worth checking out if the style fits your taste)
Rated 2 out of 5 skulls Fair. (There is better metal out there)
< 2 skulls Pretty Bad. (Don't bother)