"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

In Flames - "Come Clarity" (CD)

In Flames - "Come Clarity" CD cover image

"Come Clarity" track listing:

1. Take This Life
2. Leeches
3. Reflect the Storm
4. Dead End
5. Scream
6. Come Clarity
7. Vacuum
8. Pacing Death's Trail
9. Crawl Through Knives
10. Versus Terminus
11. Our Infinite Struggle
12. Vanishing Light
13. Your Bedtime Story is Scaring Everyone

Reviewed by on January 28, 2006

"A safe, though predictable, album"

By now most of you know what to expect from an In Flames album—trademark screams, simple-yet-satisfying riffs, and melodic choruses. “Come Clarity” does not stray from that path, which makes for a safe, though predictable, album.

The material from “Come Clarity,” as well as the two previous In Flames albums (“Reroute to Remain” and “Soundtrack to Your Escape”), sounds too similar and canned, almost like it is being churned out of a heavy metal factory. Insert uncomplicated riff, add melodic chorus, attach Anders’ scream…voila! The good in this is that “Come Clarity” has consistent quality tracks; the bad is that the whole endeavor feels repetitive, especially coming after the similar sounding previous two albums.

The first single, “Take this Life,” is a perfect summary of the album as a whole. It’s a catchy, uncomplicated song that gives the listener a quick fix of melodic metal. One notable track, “Dead End,” sees the guest appearance of Lisa Miskovsky, a fellow Swede. It is a surprising twist for an In Flames song, and Miskovsky adds another dimension to one of the better tracks of the album. The title track, which falls near the middle of the album, is the change of pace that is so desperately needed. Unfortunately, this slow moving track does more to make old school fans wonder whether or not this could really be the same In Flames that is responsible for the album “Colony” and its predecessors. A high point, though, comes on the track “Crawl Through Knives,” which demonstrates the peak of In Flames new-millennium style, with a gripping melodic chorus.

Granted, “Come Clarity” is consistent. Technically, the album sounds great, with veteran musicianship and crisp production on every track. In the end, it is the formulaic nature of the album which holds it back. A decent effort, but is this all we have to look forward to from such an esteemed band?

Highs: The production here is tight, with all the precision and pounding one would expect from a big-time metal band.

Lows: Too predictable.

Bottom line: If you liked their last two album releases, you will enjoy “Come Clarity.”

Rated 3 out of 5 skulls
3 out of 5 skulls

Rating Description
Rated 5 out of 5 skulls Perfection. (No discernable flaws; one of the reviewer's all-time favorites)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls Near Perfection. (An instant classic with some minor imperfections)
Rated 4 out of 5 skulls Excellent. (An excellent effort worth picking up)
Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls Good. (A good effort, worth checking out or picking up)
Rated 3 out of 5 skulls Decent. (A decent effort worth checking out if the style fits your tastes)
Rated 2.5 out of 5 skulls Average. (Nothing special; worth checking out if the style fits your taste)
Rated 2 out of 5 skulls Fair. (There is better metal out there)
< 2 skulls Pretty Bad. (Don't bother)