"some music was meant to stay underground..."

4 Dead - "Blood and Piss" (CD)

4 Dead - "Blood and Piss" CD cover image

"Blood and Piss" track listing:

1. Bitch Black
2. My Sweetheart's Name Is Excessive Violence
3. I Put The Fuck You In Fun
4. The Blackened Hearts Club
5. She Kills
6. The Dead
7. 48 Cemetery
8. Flock Of Dead Sheep

Reviewed by on December 23, 2008

"The 21 minutes that make up “Blood and Piss” will be some of the most intense and angry minutes of your life. "

4 Dead is a Converge worship band and like Converge it is hard to put it into a genre. The band has hardcore elements and metal elements but it is defiantly not a metalcore band. Maybe a new genre called “Converge-core” should be made up to fit bands like this. The 21 minutes that make up “Blood and Piss” will be some of the most intense and angry minutes of your life. 4 Dead is all about the anger and the songs will make you want to smash things and go mental.

“Bitch Black” shows what this album is going to be all about in the first 30 seconds. The song is fast, angry, and almost beautiful. Maybe living in Canberra, a city that is in the middle of nowhere, sends people insane. If you could interpret the lyrics that the gang shout in this song without using the booklet then you could find work cracking codes.

The next song “My Sweetheart's Name Is Excessive Violence” is the best that this disc has to offer and has become a fan favorite. In between bursts of rage there is a nice little clap moment, but this peace does not last. It soon flies out the window and the anger comes right back.

The next song “I Put the Fuck You in Fun” is a long song that makes it feel like something is trying to smash out from inside your head. Half way through the song the energy starts to wind down and it feels like the song has came to an end, but things kick off again, although not as fast as it was before. This song is crazy. The guitars don’t follow the rules. The insanity makes it seem like the band might have been listening to The Dillinger Escape Plan or Meshuggah while writing the song.

“The Blackened Hearts Club” is just as crazy as the song that came before. In between bursts of almost indecipherable words we hear guitar shreds that don’t seem to be going anywhere, but at the same time would take away some of the song if it didn’t have the crazy feel to it. At one point the guitars sound suspiciously like a recorder.

“The Song She Kills” is all about the speed. The vocals come out just as fast as the guitars, and at one point they come out clean, which make the song sound desperate and furious as it seems like the singer has strained himself so much that his voice has cracked a bit. The following song titled “The Dead” is also very quick and angry. This is the first song that has clear lyrics without having to resort to looking in the booklet. It is a definite highlight of a brilliant album.

“48 Cemetery” is a great song that opens with a “LET’S GO!” followed by some quick beats that would be sure to rip up and turn a crowd into a bloodthirsty mob. The track leads into the brilliant closer that is “Flock of Dead Sheep.” The song is sure to encourage many attempts at both stage diving and stealing the microphone from the singer.

This is easily some of the most pissed off and aggressive music to come from Australia's ever growing hardcore and metal movements. If you like heavy music get your hands on this, just be sure to keep some tissues near because your ears will bleed.

Highs: This will mess with your head, it is a brilliant disc!

Lows: Short, it wouldnt have hurt to have a few more songs.

Bottom line: If you can get into Converge then this is the band for you.

Rated 4 out of 5 skulls
4 out of 5 skulls

Rating Description
Rated 5 out of 5 skulls Perfection. (No discernable flaws; one of the reviewer's all-time favorites)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls Near Perfection. (An instant classic with some minor imperfections)
Rated 4 out of 5 skulls Excellent. (An excellent effort worth picking up)
Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls Good. (A good effort, worth checking out or picking up)
Rated 3 out of 5 skulls Decent. (A decent effort worth checking out if the style fits your tastes)
Rated 2.5 out of 5 skulls Average. (Nothing special; worth checking out if the style fits your taste)
Rated 2 out of 5 skulls Fair. (There is better metal out there)
< 2 skulls Pretty Bad. (Don't bother)