"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Voices of Destiny - "Crisis Cult" (CD)

Voices of Destiny - "Crisis Cult" CD cover image

"Crisis Cult" track listing:

1. Intro
2. Wolfpack
3. The Easy Prey
4. To the Slaughter
5. 21 Heroes
6. At the Edge
7. Stormcrow
8. Under Control
9. The Great Hunt
10. Your Creation

Reviewed by on January 9, 2015

"Fans of outfits like Sirenia or Revamp will be right at home here with this varied release that offers both soothing symphonics and shredding metal in alternating doses."

A late 2014 release, Voices Of Destiny capped the year with a third full-length album featuring a new vocalist for an epic, soaring sound that combines female-fronted Gothic metal with more extreme styles. Fans of outfits like Sirenia or Revamp will be right at home here with this varied release that offers both soothing symphonics and shredding metal in alternating doses.

A “beauty and the beast” band, there's both operatic clean singing on the female side and harsh growls on the male side, but the vocals actually have more variety than just an either/or scenario. Different styles come up across the disc, including some voice-over work to push the album's story, and new front-woman Ada Flechtner has great range within her overall sound. Moving past the vocals into the instrumentation, “Crisis Cult” is an album that's consistently energetic and has a good balance between symphonic/melodic aspects and the harsher metal elements.

A few songs do shift more towards the softer side, like the all piano and vocal ending track “Your Creation” or the less-heavy offering “Under Control,” but these are counterbalanced by tracks like the frantic and heavy “Stormcrow.” Every track showcases a subtle but distinct shift in tone as well, so there's very little bleed through across the album. The aforementioned “Stormcrow” for instance utilizes sci-fi keyboards, while “The Great Hunt” is filled with movie score style string instruments and “To The Slaughter” includes some stuttering industrial/electronic effects.

Anyone who digs symphonic bands that switch between harsh and smooth will almost certainly love “Crisis Cult,” and it's definitely an album to check out if you dig anything from Mayan to Xandria. The only real complaint to be found is that it's not a particularly unique sound and doesn't significantly change the genre formula, but the quality is so high and the songs memorable enough that the album shines anyway.

Highs: Great beauty and the beast style gothic/symphonic metal.

Lows: A few of the songs may be too soft for the death metal crowd, and it's not really a groundbreaking release genre-wise.

Bottom line: Voices Of Destiny returns with a new vocalist for this third symphonic metal outing that blends harsh and soft together as one.

Rated 4 out of 5 skulls
4 out of 5 skulls

Rating Description
Rated 5 out of 5 skulls Perfection. (No discernable flaws; one of the reviewer's all-time favorites)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls Near Perfection. (An instant classic with some minor imperfections)
Rated 4 out of 5 skulls Excellent. (An excellent effort worth picking up)
Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls Good. (A good effort, worth checking out or picking up)
Rated 3 out of 5 skulls Decent. (A decent effort worth checking out if the style fits your tastes)
Rated 2.5 out of 5 skulls Average. (Nothing special; worth checking out if the style fits your taste)
Rated 2 out of 5 skulls Fair. (There is better metal out there)
< 2 skulls Pretty Bad. (Don't bother)