"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Trivium - "Vengeance Falls" (CD)

Trivium - "Vengeance Falls" CD cover image

"Vengeance Falls" track listing:

1. Brave This Storm
2. Vengeance Falls
3. Strife
4. No Way To Heal
5. To Believe
6. At The End Of This War
7. Through Blood And Dirt And Bone
8. Villainy Thrives
9. Incineration: The Broken World
10. Wake (The End Is Nigh)

Reviewed by on July 22, 2014

"Trivium's 'Vengeance Falls' matches the heights hit by 'The Crusade.'"

For a while, it looked like "The Crusade" would be Trivium's "Master Of Puppets," an album of such legendary greatness among fans that nothing else the band could come up with would match it. With "Vengeance Falls," the members of Trivium may have set a new high for themselves.

A ton of the credit for this has to go to singer/guitarist Matt Heafy, who delivers a near-perfect vocal performance, blending his best clean vocals yet with the shouts that have been there since the "Ascendancy" days. From the opener, "Brave This Storm" onward, Heafy operates on a level that, quite frankly, we've never heard before from him.

Heafy and fellow ax-man Corey Beaulieu deliver the goods instrumentally as well. Take, for example, the stuttery riff that powers the title track, "Vengeance Falls" or the Maiden-meets-Metallica gallop of "Strife." The acoustic opening of "At The End Of This War" is a great palate cleanser before the thrashing starts again (and good god, does Nick Augusto bring the speed on this one).

Despite the controversy surrounding the choice of Disturbed singer David Draiman as producer, only one song seems overtly influenced by him - the overly dramatic "Through Blood And Dirt And Bone."

Trivium's "Vengeance Falls" matches the heights hit by "The Crusade." It's a superb thrasher with the best vocals this band has ever offered.

Highs: Superb performances instrumentally and vocally throughout.

Lows: The overly dramatic "Through Blood And Dirt And Bone"

Bottom line: A superb thrasher that features Matt Heafy's best-ever vocal performance.

Rated 4 out of 5 skulls
4 out of 5 skulls

Rating Description
Rated 5 out of 5 skulls Perfection. (No discernable flaws; one of the reviewer's all-time favorites)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls Near Perfection. (An instant classic with some minor imperfections)
Rated 4 out of 5 skulls Excellent. (An excellent effort worth picking up)
Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls Good. (A good effort, worth checking out or picking up)
Rated 3 out of 5 skulls Decent. (A decent effort worth checking out if the style fits your tastes)
Rated 2.5 out of 5 skulls Average. (Nothing special; worth checking out if the style fits your taste)
Rated 2 out of 5 skulls Fair. (There is better metal out there)
< 2 skulls Pretty Bad. (Don't bother)