"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Heaven Shall Burn - "Iconoclast (Part 1: The Final Resistance)" (CD)

Heaven Shall Burn - "Iconoclast  (Part 1: The Final Resistance)" CD cover image

"Iconoclast (Part 1: The Final Resistance)" track listing:

1. Awoken
2. Endzeit
3. Like A Thousand Suns
4. Murderers Of All Murderers
5. Forlorn Skies
6. A Dying Ember
7. Joel
8. A Quest For Resistance
9. Black Tears
10. The Bombs Of My Saviours
11. Against All Lies
12. The Disease
13. Equinox
14. Atonement

Reviewed by on April 13, 2008

"much better than the standard metalcore fare you hear these days"

Heaven Shall Burn was formed in Germany in autumn 1996, under the name Consense. With the recording of their second demo in early 1997 the band changed their name to Heaven Shall Burn. After working on material for some time, their first full length CD, “Asunder," was released in April 2000. Heaven Shall Burn is comprised of Marcus Bischoff (vocals), Alexander Dietz (guitar), Mail Weichert (guitar), Eric Bischoff (bass), and Matthias Voist (drums).

"Awoken" opens with restrained, melodic piano and strings which shortly give way to the driving drums and shouted vocals of "Endzeit." "Like a Thousand Suns" continues in the same vein. Heaven Shall Burn displays real hardcore credibility, especially in the vocals, while stirring in a liberal helping of Gothenburg-styled metal.

There's a repetitiveness which sometimes makes it hard to distinguish one song from the next. The vocals are quite prominent in the mix, as are the drums and guitars, while the bass is practically non-existent. Unlike some of their American metalcore brethren, it is usually possible to discern the lyrics, which added to my enjoyment of this release.

There's an interesting tempo change about two-thirds of the way into "Dying Ember,” which helped keep the song from becoming boring. There's also a pretty nice breakdown halfway through "Joel," after which they slow the tempo down before speeding it back up. All in all, it's a very enjoyable track. The rest of the CD continues in the same vein. The guitars are nice and crunchy with plenty of mosh-worthy riffs and breakdowns.

This CD is a decent offering which mixes hardcore and metal influences quite well. In my opinion, it's much better than the standard metalcore fare you hear these days. And at 58 minutes, it's a good bargain. There's no lack of talent in this band and I look forward to hearing future releases.

Highs: Good blend of hardcore and metal

Lows: Tends to be repetetive

Bottom line: Well produced effort worth listening to, especially if you like good metalcore.

Rated 4 out of 5 skulls
4 out of 5 skulls

Rating Description
Rated 5 out of 5 skulls Perfection. (No discernable flaws; one of the reviewer's all-time favorites)
Rated 4.5 out of 5 skulls Near Perfection. (An instant classic with some minor imperfections)
Rated 4 out of 5 skulls Excellent. (An excellent effort worth picking up)
Rated 3.5 out of 5 skulls Good. (A good effort, worth checking out or picking up)
Rated 3 out of 5 skulls Decent. (A decent effort worth checking out if the style fits your tastes)
Rated 2.5 out of 5 skulls Average. (Nothing special; worth checking out if the style fits your taste)
Rated 2 out of 5 skulls Fair. (There is better metal out there)
< 2 skulls Pretty Bad. (Don't bother)