"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Metal News for August 2, 2015

Last updated on August 31, 2015 at 3:07 PM ET

We post metal news every day, throughout the day, covering thousands of metal bands including underground and unsigned bands. You are currently browsing the news archive, but you can also find news by band.

6 news articles posted on this day.

Kaiserreich Releasing "Cuore Nero"

When the old names of true black metal are falling one by one there’s always new fresh blood to hail the dark side with renewed energy.

Kaiserreich isn't exactly a newcomer - the band has been active for 10 years - but "Cuore Nero" injects fresh life into the primeval black metal sound, with the album due to drop September 7 via De Tenebrarum Principio. The label comments:

"We’re not simply speaking of low-fi and analogic stuff, but setting a new standard in the black metal field, where each aspect of the sound can be perceived still maintaining a darkly entrenching & embracing atmosphere."

The track listing is as follows:

01. Unico Sole
02. Bianco Freddo
03. Senza Luce
04. Ombra Infranta
05. Vuoto Assoluto
06. Zero Negativo
07. High Hopes
08. Solitudes Of Infinite More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Gaytheist And Rabbits Stream Split Tracks

"Gay*Bits" - the brand new split LP from Portland's Gaytheist and Rabbits - is due out August 21 via Good To Die Records.

In the meantime, you can check out brand new original tracks from each band streaming online this week. Check out "Ready To Right" by Rabbits, as well as "Run To Away To Home" by Gaythiest, in the clips provided below.

The split's full track listing is as follows:

1. Hope The Nihilist (Gaytheist original)
2. Run Away To Home (Gaytheist original)
3. We And Zoo (Rabbits cover performed by Gaytheist, original can be found on the album "Bites Rites" by Rabbits)
4. Fight Right (Rabbits cover performed by Gaytheist, original can be found on the album "Bites Rites" by Rabbits)
5. I Quit (Gaytheist song, performed by Gaytheist with Josh from Rabbits on vocals - orginal can be found on the album "Rainbows Have Nothing to Hide" by Gaytheist)
6. Soap Scum (Original written by Jason from Gaytheist and Josh from Rabbits, performed by Gaytheist)
7. Soap Scum (Original written by Jason from Gaytheist and Josh from Rabbits, performed by Rabbits)
8. Move Her Body (Rabbits song, performed by Rabbits with Jason from Gaytheist on vocals, original can be found on the album "Bites Rites" by Rabbits)
9. I'm On Top (Gaytheist cover performed by Rabbits, original can be found on the album "Rainbows Have Nothing to Hide" by Gaytheist)
10. 60 Easy Payments (Gaytheist cover performed by Rabbits, original can be found on the album "Hold Me...But Not So Tight" by Gaytheist)
11. The New Government You (Rabbits original)
12. Ready To Right (Rabbits original) More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Vesperia Wins International Wacken Metal Battle

Canadian outfit Vesperia has been crowned the international champions of the 11th annual Wacken Metal Battle during the 2015 Wacken Open Air (July 30 - Aug 1) in Wacken Germany, which has an attendance of over 80,000 people.

Vesperia beat out 30 other competing countries to win over international judges and fans. Bassist / vocalist Morgan Rider comments:

"We are extremely excited to accept the title of the 2015 international Wacken battle champions. There have been many ups and downs on this trip so far, but we have encountered so many amazing people, bands, press and organizers. Thank you SO MUCH for making this happen for us!"

Top 5 Standings:

1. Place: Canada – Vesperia
2. Place: Israel – Walkways
3. Place: Middle East – Blaakyum
4. Place: United Kingdom – Metaprism
5. Place: Denmark – Savage Machine

0 Comments - Discuss

Grift Posts New Music Video

Swedish band Grift just revealed the music video for "Svältorna," taken from the upcoming album "Syner," scheduled for release on September 18, 2015.

"Syner" is set to drop through Nordvis & Heathen Harvest, while the video for "Svältorna" was directed by Erik Gärdefors - check it out below.

0 Comments - Discuss

Unsacred Releasing Limited Cassette On Tour

Virginia-based black metal trio Unsacred is currently out on the road supporting Noisem on a sixteen-date run through the Southeast U.S, with three dates also including Homewrecker.

Having already burned through Louisville, Nashville, Birmingham and Jackson, Tampa and Pensacola, the tour rages straight up the East Coast before smoldering to a close in Baltimore on August 9th.

For the tour only, Unsacred is packing a new limited version of the Forcefield Records-released debut album, "False Light." In addition, the band has an untitled cassette tape with two brand new songs -- "Repetition (Worthless)" and "Kingdom" -- limited to a one-time run of 125 copies. The new tracks were recorded at Rusty's by Ricky Olson and the artwork was handled by Will Mullery.

8/02 2015 Purgatory - Atlanta, GA w/ Noisem
8/03 2015 Foxfield - Columbia, SC w/ Noisem
8/04 2015 The Maywood - Raleigh, NC w/ Noisem
8/05 2015 Shaka's - Virginia Beach, VA w/ Noisem
8/06 2015 Hell's Door - Richmond, VA w/ Noisem, Mens Room
8/07 2015 The Harmony Grange - Wilmington, DE w/ Noisem, Homewrecker
8/08 2015 Siren Records - Doylestown, PA w/ Noisem, Homewrecker
8/09 2015 CCAS - Baltimore, MD w/ Noisem, Homewrecker
9/25 2015 Shadow Woods Festival - White Hall, MD More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss


Sunday Old School: Atomkraft

Speed metal is a genre that’s quite hard to define. Many bands are slapped with the tag while also labelled “heavy metal” or “thrash metal,” which most people agree are the genres that bookend Speed. Whatever the case, there are some excellent bands tagged with the label, many of whom found critical, if not commercial success. Today, we’ll take a look at one such band, which like some of Britain’s finest metal groups, formed in the North East, specifically New castle. A band whose name literally encapsulates power, Atomkraft.

The band was originally put together by vocalist, Tony Dolan and drummer, Paul Spillet as a punk outfit which went by the name of Moral Fibre, recruiting guitar players, Ian Legg and Chris Taylor along the way, though they would mostly operate as a trio. Their moniker was changed after Taylor returned from a trip to Bremen in North West Germany, with badges sporting the anti nuclear power slogan, "Atomkraft, Nein Danke!" and the group decided to take the first word for a new name, feeling that it suited their new, heavy metal approach better. More...

Read more...  |  2 Comments - Discuss