"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Metal News for August 17, 2020

Last updated on September 24, 2020 at 1:32 AM ET

We post metal news every day, throughout the day, covering thousands of metal bands including underground and unsigned bands. You are currently browsing the news archive, but you can also find news by band.

9 news articles posted on this day.

Ingested Posts Behind The Scenes Video Online

British death metal band Ingested has posted a new video online, going behind the scenes of their latest music video, "Another Breath," which features guest vocals from Crowbar frontman Kirk Windstein. You can check it out below. The song comes from the bands latest album, "Where Only Gods May Tread," which was released last Friday through Unique Leader Records.

Recently, frontman Jase Evans spoke with Metal Underground about the album, including how the Kirk Windstein collaboration came about, as well as plenty of other topics. You can also watch the interview in full below. More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Hinayana Reveals EP Details

Austin, Texas-based melodic death-doom metal unit Hinayana have been turning heads in the metal scene since their formation in 2014, starting out as a one-man band spearheaded by frontman Casey Hurd. Now, after releasing their crushing 2018 full-length "Order Divine" and subsequently securing the attention of Napalm Records, Hinayana are poised to release their next musical offering – the crushing "Death Of The Cosmic" EP – set for release on August 28, 2020.

Otherworldly and haunting while maintaining a crushing, colossal heaviness and peppered with undeniable groove, the "Death Of The Cosmic" EP emphasizes improved production and keen songwriting. Primarily self-produced by the band with mixing/drum recording from Kevin Butler and mastering by Swallow The Sun’s Juho Raiha, fans will also notice the new EP’s heightened concept in comparison to the band’s previous releases.

Opening title track "Death Of The Cosmic" sets off with optimistic ambience, quickly blasting into an ethereal universe of blazing leads and acoustic soundscapes capped by vocalist Casey Hurd’s deep, menacing growls. "Cold Conception" rushes in with melancholic energy before transforming into a dark, galloping anthem accented by the Morin Khuur stylings of late Tengger Cavalry mastermind Nature Ganganbaigal and a melting solo from Erik Shtaygrud. Mystic instrumental interlude "Yet Here I Wait Forever" showcases the dynamic, softer side of Hinayana before picking back up with the stunning down-tempo gripper "In Sacred Delusion," featuring a guest appearance from Toni Toivonen (Hanging Garden). Death Of The Cosmic closes with the sorrowful 5-minute epilogue "Pitch Black Noise" – not only proving Hinayana's identifiable auditory trademark of melding tranquility and thunderous intensity, but also underlining the existential depth of their lyrical approach.

1. Death of the Cosmic
2. Cold Conception (feat. Nature Ganganbaigal)
3. Yet Here I Wait Forever
4. In Sacred Delusion (feat. Toni Toivonen)
5. Pitch Black Noise

0 Comments - Discuss

Devin Townsend Announces New Live Album

Devin Townsend will release "Order Of Magnitude – Empath Live Volume 1" on the 23rd October 2020, a document of his Winter 2019 European tour that saw him taking on possibly his most ambitious live show to date.

Recorded in December 2019 in London, UK on the penultimate night of the tour in support of his latest album "Empath," this run of shows saw Devin joined by an incredible line-up of musicians. The band was made up of guitarists Mike Kenneally (ex-Frank Zappa) and Markus Reuter (Stick Men, The Crimson Project), drummer Morgen Agren (Kaipa, Mats & Morgan, Frank Zappa), bassist Nathan Navarro, Haken keyboard player Diego Tejeida, and guitarist/vocalist Ché Aimee Dorval, as well as vocalists Samantha & Anne Preis and Arabella Packford.

Devin's plan for the Empath touring cycle was to divide it up into three "Volumes," and this was Volume 1. The idea behind the shows was a simple one: none of the backing tapes or click tracks that had long been necessary to bring the kaleidoscopic cacophony in his head and on his records to life in the flesh. This would just be Devin Townsend and a band of genius-level musicians getting up there and trying to keep it from spinning off into outer space. Or maybe just letting it spin-off into outer space for the sheer hell of it. More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Leaves' Eyes Releases New Music Video

Leaves' Eyes has released their new single and video "Dark Love Empress," the first track from upcoming album "The Last Viking," which is due for release on 23rd October on AFM Records. You can check it out below.

"The Last Viking" is the 2020 monumental piece from Leaves' Eyes. With their cult-albums "Vinland Saga" (2005) and "King of Kings" (2015), they already turned Leif Erikssons discovery of America and the life of Norway’s first king into music. Now, Leaves' Eyes bring the Viking Sagas to their bombastic finale.

"The Last Viking" tracklisting:

1. Death Of A King
2. Chain Of The Golden Horn
3. Dark Love Empress
4. Serpents And Dragons
5. Black Butterfly (feat. Clémentine Delauney)
6. War Of Kings
7. For Victory
8. Two Kings One Realm
9. Flames In The Sky
10. Serkland
11. Varangians
12. Night Of The Ravens
13. The Last Viking
14. Break Into The Sky Of Aeon More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Pale Horseman Premiere New Music Video

Chicago-based sludge metal band Pale Horseman premiere their new music video for "Tundra" streaming via YouTube for you below. The song is taken from their recently released album "For Dust Thou Art".

0 Comments - Discuss

Monolith Premiere New Music Video "Saturn"

South African death metal band Monolith premiere a new music video for their song "Saturn" streaming via YouTube for you below. The track is from their latest album "The Lord Conspirator" which was released via MMD Records earlier this year.

0 Comments - Discuss

Son Of A Shotgun Premiere New Song

Norwegian southern death/grind outfit Son Of A Shotgun - led by Ivan “Meathook” Gujic (guitarist of Blood Red Throne) - premiere a new song 'My Bible, My Wife, My Gun' streaming via Soundcloud for you below.

Tells Ivan Gujic: More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Mors Principium Est Premiere New Track

Finnish melodic death metal band Mors Principium Est premiere a new song called "A Day For Redemption", taken from their upcoming new album "Seven". The new oiuting marks the group's first new music since 2017's Embers of a Dying World, and due out on October 23rd via AFM Records.

Check out now "A Day For Redemption" below.

0 Comments - Discuss

Wayfarer Premiere New Song "The Iron Horse"

Hailing from Denver, Colorado black metal outfit Wayfarer premiere a new song entitled "The Iron Horse (Gallows Frontier, Act II)", taken from their upcoming new album "A Romance With Violence". The new effort will be released on October 16th through Profound Lore.

Check out now "The Iron Horse (Gallows Frontier, Act II)" below.

0 Comments - Discuss