"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Metal News for July 10, 2011

Last updated on September 4, 2015 at 3:05 PM ET

We post metal news every day, throughout the day, covering thousands of metal bands including underground and unsigned bands. You are currently browsing the news archive, but you can also find news by band.

8 news articles posted on this day.

Amberian Dawn Posts New Album Studio Footage

Amberian Dawn has posted in-studio footage of the band recording an upcoming album, which can be viewed below. The group also commented on the clip:

"Hey, recording sessions of the new Amberian Dawn album have begun.

"Here's the first video trailer from these recording sessions. First on line is our drummer Heikki Saari. With this video trailer we also want to welcome our original drummer back on the line-up. New AD album is planned to be released on early 2012 by Spinefarm Records.

"Stay metal."

4 Comments - Discuss

Megadeth Checks In From Knebworth

David Ellefson and Shawn Drover of Megadeth have checked in with a brief video update from a "Big Four" show in Knebworth. You can check out the clip below.

Previously posted "Big Four" backstage footage from Milan, Italy can also be found by heading over to this location.

4 Comments - Discuss

Sorrows Path To Play "Hell In The City"

Athens, Greece based act Sorrows Path has announced it will be performing at the "Hell in the City" fest. Details are available in the show flyer below, and a statement from the venue reads as follows:

"The Seven Sins Club presents one of the Helliest summer Festivals... Four talented bands are going to present songs of their latest albums, as well as older favorites. Power, thrash, doom and progressive are going to be in the 'menu' and The Silent Wedding, Wastefall, Sorrows Path, and Disharmony guarantee for its quality... So, just have a good appetite!"

You can also check out Sorrows Path's music by navigating to the band's MySpace music profile.

0 Comments - Discuss

Nightmare Posts Crimson Glory Cover Song Online

Nightmare has recorded a cover version of the song "Where Dragons Rule," which taken from the Crimson Glory album "Transcendence," as a tribute to vocalist Midnight. The song can be heard in the player below.

The former Crimson Glory frontman Midnight (John Patrick Jr. McDonald) passed away on Wednesday, July 8th, 2009 due to total kidney and liver failure. He was 47 years old.

Nightmare also recently started the recording process for a new full length album to be entitled "Mercury Rain" and is planning for it to be released in March 2012 via AFM Records.

Nightmare - Where Dragons Rule (Crimson Glory Cover) by AFM Records

0 Comments - Discuss

Ocean Architecture Reveals "Animus" Track Listing

Ocean Architecture is currently working on the band's new album "Animus." The group has now revealed the track listing will be as follows:

1. Metatheory
2. The Last Stand
3. Plato's Cave
4. Velvet
5. Columns of Time
6. Steel Ecstacy
7. Animus Part 1
8. Animus Part 2

You can check out the song "Plato's Cave" in the player below, or head over here to check out footage of the band recording the new album.

Plato's Cave (Demo) by OceanArchitecture

0 Comments - Discuss

Attack Attack! Warped Tour Footage Available

American deathcore act Attack Attack! has posted some new footage online from its ongoing trek on the Vans Warped Tour. You can check out the footage in the player below. The band will also be re-releasing its self-titled album on July 19, 2011 through Rise Records.

1 Comment - Discuss

Live Video of YOB Performing New Song Online

Live footage of Yob performing their new song "Prepare the Ground," off of their forthcoming album "Atma," in Chicago on July 8th has been posted online. "Atma" will be released this next August. More details can be found here. Check out the bootleg video below:

1 Comment - Discuss


Sunday Old School: White Zombie

Before Rob Zombie was known for his movies, his Woolite commercial or "Dragula," he was known as the frontman of New York's White Zombie, one of the most popular heavy metal bands of the 1990's. The band was formed in 1985 by design student Robert Cummings (Rob Zombie) and his girlfriend Sean Yseult, who would prove to be the sole constant members of the group. They formed their own record label, Silent Explosion, through which they released three EPs "Gods On Voodoo Moon," "Pig Heaven" and "Psycho-Head Blowout" before self-releasing their first full length album, "Soul-Crusher." The album helped them to attract the attention of Caroline Records, with whom they released their next record, "Make Them Die Slowly." The album marked a significant departure in sound for the band, heading in a much more heavy metal orientated direction than their previous punk rock style.

Following guitar player John Ricci's carpel tunnel syndrome preventing him from playing guitar anymore, Jay Yeunger was brought in to replace him, making his recording debut with White Zombie's next EP release, "God Of Thunder," which featured a cover of the KISS song of the same name as well as two previously unused songs. After the release, the band searched for a new label, attempting to grab the attention of major labels. While RCA showed interest, but the band eventually decided to sign with Geffen. Thanks in part to the backing they received from a major label, as well as creating catchier songs, they were able to break into the mainstream with their next record, "La Sexorcisto: Devil Music, Vol. 1." The album featured the song, "Thunder Kiss '65," which received heavy rotation on MTV (which played music back then) and became something of a hit single. The song's popularity, coupled with the band's hard working approach to touring helped the album go Gold by the end of 1993, before going Platinum the next year.

The band were now faced with the task of following up a successful album and recruited new drummer John Tempesta (formerly of Exodus and Testament) to help out. They proved they weren't a flash in the pan with their next record, "Astro Creep 2000," which was able to reach number six on the Billboard 200 albums chart, not least due to the popularity of the songs, "More Human Than Human," "Electric Head Part. 2" and "Super-Charger Heaven." The album has since been certified double Platinum since it's release, selling over two and a half million copies. It was also around this time that Zombie began working on solo material, performing a duet with the legendary Alice Cooper for a tie in CD for the hit show, "X-Files," which received a Grammy nomination, as well as penning the song, "The Great American Nightmare" for Howard Stern, which has been used as the theme song of his radio show since 1999. While it's unclear if these solo endeavours factored into the demise, White Zombie decided to call it a day in 1998. Since then, Rob Zombie has achieved considerable success as a solo artist and is now known for his film directing too. Yseult joined a surf rock band called The Famous Monsters, in addition to other musical pursuits, before releasing a book, "I'm With The Band" last year. The other members have also continued a career in music, particularly Tempesta, who has gone on to perform with other well known artists such as Helmet and The Cult. Despite a White Zombie box set, "Let Sleeping Corpses Lie" being released in 2008, the members have been adamant that a future reunion is very unlikely. More...

Read more...  |  16 Comments - Discuss