"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Metal News for June 26, 2004

Last updated on September 26, 2016 at 5:44 PM ET

We post metal news every day, throughout the day, covering thousands of metal bands including underground and unsigned bands. You are currently browsing the news archive, but you can also find news by band.

7 news articles posted on this day.

Pyorrhoea Signs With Empire Records

Polish band Pyorrhoea has officially signed three-record deal with Empire Records. Their debut album "Desire For Torment" is going to be released in Poland with 4th issue of Thrash'em All Magazine. The album contains 14 ultra fast songs: 1. Slave, 2. Excrements On Your Face, 3. Masskill Symptom, 4. Bondage Punishment Torture, 5. Suicidal Masturbation, 6. Anal Arousal, 7. Addicted To Killing, 8. S.W.Y.T.E.Y.O.S., 9. Consume You, 10. Desire For Torment, 11. Chainsaw Dance, 12. 0108, 13. Hung On A Hook, 14. Dead Orgy Scene.

The album was recorded at Hertz Studio, mastered by Bartosz Trojanowski. The band's line up consists of musicians known from bands like Hate, Vesania, Devilyn, Naamah: Analripper - vocal, A.D. Gore - guitar, Max - guitar, Cyprian - bass, Daray - drums.

1 Comment - Discuss

Necronomicon Announce New Bassist

Montreal-based death metallers NECRONOMICON have announced the addition of bassist Fredrich to the group's ranks. Fredrich is "now an official member of the band, after demonstrating his capabilities and proving that he could pull it off in a record time," the band write on their web site. "Fredrich will be appearing in the recently shot video clip, 'Dark Wings of Deceptions', as well as the future shows, starting July 13 in Quebec City.

"As we previously mentioned, the band's ex bass player Dominik halted his activities for medical reasons and for an undetermined period of time. Finding a replacement member was the best thing to do in order for the band to continue their activities."

Upcoming NECRONOMICON shows:

Jul. 13 - Chez Dagobert - Quebec City, QC
Jul. 18 - Foufounes Electriques – Montreal, QC
Aug. 13 - Club Rockit – Toronto, ON

NECRONOMICON's sophomore full-length album, "The Sacred Medicines", was released last year through Skyscraper Music.

0 Comments - Discuss

Black Sabbath: 'The Ronnie James Dio Years'

Warner Bros./Rhino Records is releasing a new BLACK SABBATH compilation in September focusing on the Ronnie James Dio era(s). "Black Sabbath: The Ronnie James Dio Years" features the following track listing:

01. Neon Knights
02. Lady Evil
03. Country Girl
04. Voodoo
05. The Mob Rules
06. Turn Up The Night
07. TV Crimes
08. Time Machine
09. Letters From Earth
10. Heaven And Hell

3 Comments - Discuss

Suffocation Update, Ecard

SUFFOCATION have begun the first leg of European touring in support of the recently released full-length Souls To Deny. The first video from Souls To Deny, for “Surgery of Impalement”, recently debuted on MTV2’s Headbangers Ball as well as Fuse’ Uranium. Check out the video as part of the Suffocation E-card.


June 24 Metz, France (F) Europe Hall
June 25 Dessel, Belgium (B) Graspop Metal Meeting
June 26 Le Mans, France (F) Circuit Des 24th as part of Fury Fest

1 Comment - Discuss

Download MP3 Of Megadeth's 'Addicted to Chaos'

A remixed and remastered version of the MEGADETH track "Addicted to Chaos" has been posted online in MP3 format (ZIP file).

"Addicted to Chaos" comes off the upcoming "Youthanasia" reissue, due on July 27 through Capitol Records. A total of seven albums from the group's back catalogue as well as the MD45 record re-sung by MEGADETH mainman Dave Mustaine have been remixed and remastered and will feature added bonus tracks, artwork and detailed liner notes.

"Some of the songs just didn't turn out the way that I wanted them to when they were first made, due to money restrictions, technology limitations and so on," said Mustaine. "I believe now that there is nothing standing in the way of what I felt when I wrote these songs and how you will be able to hear them."

The complete list of albums being re-released on July 27 is as follows:

01. "Peace Sells ...But Who's Buying" (1986)
02. "So Far, So Good, So What" (1988)
03. "Rust In Peace" (1990)
04. "Countdown To Extinction" (1992)
05. "Youthanasia" (1994)
06. "Cryptic Writings" (1997)
07. "Risk" (1999)
08. "MD45 - The Craving" (1996)

3 Comments - Discuss

Ten Ton Truck Looking For Record Deal

Metal Blade recording artist Ed Fuhrman of Hades has a new band, Ten Ton Truck. They've just finished recording a demo and are shopping for a label. To find out more about the band and hear some samples, visit their website at www.Ten-Ton-Truck.com.

0 Comments - Discuss

Headline News

Be A Part Of Metal History

In the summer of 2005, Banger Productions will be releasing the first film of its kind, a comprehensive history of heavy metal music and culture. We are calling on all metalheads to submit their unique and rare video footage of concerts, events, festivals and music videos. This is your chance to really be a part of metal history.

Filming on location in Germany, Norway, Sweden, the UK, Canada and the US, Metal: A Headbanger’s History will take us on a global journey to understand the meaning of metal and its impact on society over the past 35 years. Interviews with musicians, fans, metal experts and detractors combined with rare stock footage will lead the viewer through the rich world of metal’s musical highs as well as its shocking controversial lows. Accompanied by a four CD box-set chronicling the evolution of metal music, this film will give us a unique insight into this often-misunderstood art form and will be seen as its definitive documentary for years to come.

Please submit a descriptive list of all available video footage and your contact information to chris@metalhistory.com.

9 Comments - Discuss