"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Metal News for June 21, 2004

Last updated on September 26, 2016 at 8:44 AM ET

We post metal news every day, throughout the day, covering thousands of metal bands including underground and unsigned bands. You are currently browsing the news archive, but you can also find news by band.

8 news articles posted on this day.

Hear New Life of Agony Song, 'Justified', Online

LIFE OF AGONY have uploaded a short clip of a new song, entitled "Justified" at their official web site. "Justified" is one of four tracks the band recently recorded for inclusion on their first album of new material since 1997's "Soul Searching Sun", tentatively due late 2004/early 2005 through an as-yet-undetermined label. Other songs that were tracked during the sessions were "The Day He Died", "The Calm That Disturbs You" and "Love To Let U Down".

0 Comments - Discuss

Manmade God Change Name To Spiralarms

San Francisco Bay Area's MANMADE GOD, now featuring former SYSTEMATIC frontman Tim Narducci, have officially changed their name to SPIRALARMS.

"We changed our name due a number of reasons, mostly political, but most importantly the sound," said Narducci in on online posting. "It's much different then what those guys [MANMADEGOD] were doing before and much different even for myself.

"We have been writing like crazy [and we have] about 16 songs [finished] now. We played our first show at the Pound June 5th in San Francisco and it was a blast!"

SYSTEMATIC, one of the first groups signed to Lars Ulrich's now-defunct imprint The Music Company (distributed through Elektra Records), broke up following an April 9 show in Livermore, California. Meanwhile, MANMADEGOD appear to have suffered a similar fate following the departure of vocalist Pann and an apparent split with their record label, American Recordings.

5 Comments - Discuss

Download Megadeth's 'Insomnia'

A remixed and remastered version of the MEGADETH track "Insomnia" has been posted online in MP3 format at this location (ZIP file).

"Insomnia" comes off the upcoming "Risk" reissue, due on July 27 through Capitol Records. A total of seven albums from the group's back catalogue as well as the MD45 record re-sung by MEGADETH mainman Dave Mustaine have been remixed and remastered and will feature added bonus tracks, artwork and detailed liner notes.

"Some of the songs just didn't turn out the way that I wanted them to when they were first made, due to money restrictions, technology limitations and so on," said Mustaine. "I believe now that there is nothing standing in the way of what I felt when I wrote these songs and how you will be able to hear them."

The complete list of albums being re-released on July 27 is as follows:

01. "Peace Sells ...But Who's Buying" (1986)
02. "So Far, So Good, So What" (1988)
03. "Rust In Peace" (1990)
04. "Countdown To Extinction" (1992)
05. "Youthanasia" (1994)
06. "Cryptic Writings" (1997)
07. "Risk" (1999)
08. "MD45 - The Craving" (1996)

0 Comments - Discuss

DFW MetalFest 2004 "Soft As Pavement" In The Works

DFW MetalFest 2004 "Soft As Pavement" is in full production, scheduled for Sept. 11th in Dallas. National and Local acts are being booked now, with host Bruce Corbitt former Vocalist of Rigor Mortis and special guests. The event will incorporate a Car show, Biker Rally and Two Stages. Visit the official site for more information at www.DFWmetalfest.com.

0 Comments - Discuss

Headline News

Ozzfest 2004 Unsigned Band Search To Be Televised

Sharon Osbourne has spoken to the TV show "Extra" about the recently announced "twist" to the ninth annual Ozzfest tour — the Osbournes will choose one unsigned band and take them on the road. Asked if this this going to be the newest reality show, Sharon replied, "It might be, it might not be. But it is going to be televised."

Following the cancellation of her talk show, Sharon plans to face off with Simon Cowell in a new TV talent search show called "The X Factor". Sharon says that both son Jack and daughter Kelly are back on track and she and Ozzy are feeling better than ever. "How lucky am I to have such a family? I am blessed," she told "Extra".

[repost of recent/lost headline]

13 Comments - Discuss

Wargasm To Play Reuinion Show

Classic early-Nineties thrash band WARGASM are reportedly planning a reunion show on September 18, 2004 as part of a benefit concert at the Middle East club in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Also set to appear is the local thrash band TRIPHAMMER. No further information is currently available.

WARGASM split up in 1995 after issuing their third full-length album, "Suicide Notes", through the Transmission label.

0 Comments - Discuss

Trouble Set Title Of Unplugged CD

Reunited doom legends Trouble have set "Simple Mind Condition" as the title of their unplugged CD, which is set to be available via the band's official web site before the end of the month. The effort, which contains acoustic versions of five classic TROUBLE numbers along with two brand new songs, was remixed by Vinny Wojno (MACHINE HEAD, KREATOR, KONKHRA) at a studio in San Francisco. Among the cuts set to appear on "Simple Mind Condition" are "Misery Shows Act II", "Flowers", "Rain", "Requiem" and "Tragedy Man".

TROUBLE are tentatively scheduled to enter the studio in the fall to record their long-awaited follow-up to 1995's "Plastic Green Head", due in early 2005 through an as-yet-undetermined label. In addition, the band have plans to re-release their classic "Trouble" (1984, later renamed "Psalm 9") and "Skull" (1985) CDs in November. A live DVD shot in Stockholm, Sweden last November will surface later in the year.

0 Comments - Discuss

Site Update

We're Baaaaaack

What was a server upgrade turned wrong when we had a hard drive failure. To make matters worse, the most recent data backup was corrupt, so we've lost much more news, comments and band info than we expected... I've exhausted all means to retreive this information and decided the only thing left is to move forward.

With that said, I've learned a lot from this disastrous experience and it won't happen again! Despite the loss, the server has been upgraded and better backup procedures are already in place. There's still more metal news to come and new site features coming in the near future for metalunderground.com.

Thanks for your patience and support.

(PS - past interviews will be restored shortly)

3 Comments - Discuss