"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Metal News for April 12, 2015

Last updated on August 27, 2016 at 3:31 PM ET

We post metal news every day, throughout the day, covering thousands of metal bands including underground and unsigned bands. You are currently browsing the news archive, but you can also find news by band.

14 news articles posted on this day.

Herfst Releasing New EP

Herfst just dropped a teaser trailer for the upcoming EP "Towards Haunted Shores," which can be heard below.

The mini-album features half an hour of melancholic, dark and nekromantic black / death metal mixed and mastered by Dan Swanö. You can also hear the previously released EP "An Oath In Darkness" over at Bandcamp here.

0 Comments - Discuss

Dark Sarah Posts Video Teser

The cinematic metal project Dark Sarah will release a new music video and digital single for the track "Light In You" on April 15th. Check out a video teaser below.

"Light In You" is a duet with Heidi Parviainen (ex. Amberian Dawn) and Tony Kakko (Sonata Arctica) and the video was shot in a beautiful winter landscape in the deep forests of Finland.

The single comes off the upcoming Dark Sarah debut album "Behind The Black Veil" that will be released on May 8th in Europe and on May 12th in North America through Inner Wound Recordings. The full track listing is as follows:

01. Save Me
02. Poison Apple
03. Hide And Seek
04. Memories Fall [feat. Manuela Kraller]
05. Evil Roots [feat. Inga Scharf]
06. Violent Roses
07. Hunting The Dreamer
08. Fortress
09. Silver Tree
10. Sun, Moon And Stars
11. Light In You [feat. Tony Kakko]
12. Sarah's Theme
13. Memories Fall [orchestral version]
14. A Grim Christmas Story More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

White Hills Streaming "No Will"

White Hills' fuzzed-out motorik spacerock gets a makeover on the newly released album "Walks for Motorists," which was recorded in Wales with David Wrench (FKA Twigs, Bear in Heaven, Owen Pallett).

Wrench strips down the band's sound, replacing the Hawkwind-esque walls of guitar with shimmering synths and no shortage of psychedelic groove. To get a taste of the album, check out the song "No Will" in the player below.

0 Comments - Discuss

Bonjour Tristesse Streaming "Wieder Allein"

German black metal project Bonjour Tristesse has a new nine minute track online titled "Wieder Allein," which can be heard below. The track comes off the "Par Un Sourire" album just released last week.

"Par Un Sourire" is a re-release of the band's debut album, which was re-arranged, re-mixed, and with additional guitars recorded.

0 Comments - Discuss

Defy The Laws Of Tradition Posts Playthrough Video

Germany's Defy The Laws Of Tradition has a new playthrough clip out now for "Scapegoat," which was filmed & edited by Grasser Production with audio recording & mixing by Philipp Treiber. Check it out below. Defy The Laws Of Tradition is:

Nico Balletta - Vocals
philT - Guitar/Vocals
Sebastian Seitz - Drums
Jan Grembler - Bass
Kilian Dütsch - Guitar

0 Comments - Discuss

The Rot Drops New Video

The Rot - a metal outfit from Thailand bringing about a new apocalyptic age of death metal - just released a music video for "Tales In Scare." Check it out below, and you can find more info on The Rot at the band's Facebook profile here.

0 Comments - Discuss

Oblivious Coming "Out Of The Wilderness"

The new Oblivious album "Out Of Wilderness" will see release via Gaphals on April 20th, 2015. The record label had this to say about the impending ralbum:

"Heavy rock and strong melodies have always been the characteristics for Oblivious. With a changed lineup, a new studio and a new label the band have blossomed and found new confidence.

"With their already strong and compelling groove the band have focused on building stronger choruses and developing vocal harmonies in Studio Underjorden, a studio that previously recorded bands as Year of the goat, Night and Vanhelgd.

"The biggest change can be found in going from two to one guitarist, bringing forward a more crisp and classic guitar sound, giving more space for the primal groove and the wilderness in the songs."

1. For Who Do Burn
2. Dirty Hand
3. Bang
4. Shore To Shore
5. Riding Down
6. Screwed
7. Midnight Mess
8. Like Brothers More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

My Hidden Sin Posts New Song

French melodic death metal outfit My Hidden Sin just released a new promo track online titled "War." Check out the track below, and if you dig it you can grab a digital copy for any amount at Bandcamp here.

0 Comments - Discuss

Diabolicum Releasing First Album in 14 Years

Infernal black metal cult DiabolicuM is finally back 14 years after previous album "The Dark Blood Rising."

Now the Swedish demons will unleash the long delayed third Opus titled "Ia Pazuzu (The Abyss of the Shadows)" on May 29th via Code666 Records. The track listing is as follows:

1. Baxxar Ehl Uhza
2. Void of Astaroth
7. One mans war
5. Salvation through Vengeance
3. Silent Spring
8. Angelmaker
4. Genocide Bliss
6. The Abyss of the Shadows
9. Ia Pazuzu More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Torturous Inception Releasing EP

Torturous Inception has checked in with the following announcement about releasing an upcoming EP:

"So after 3 months of wasting our time and listening to lies from a label who kept promising exactly what we wanted to hear, the time has finally come for new music! If you want something done right, do it yourself.

"The new EP will be available on July 11th at our CD release show w/ Dehumanized, Dysentery, Tomorrow's Victim, Splattered Entrails, and Necroptic Engorgement. Digital copies will be available via bandcamp a few weeks early.

"Here's the first track - "Gored By Horns of Judgment." Enjoy." More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss


Sunday Old School: Watchtower

Progressive metal appears to be one of the longer lasting popular sub-genres over the years, with bands such as Dream Theater and Queensryche selling very well, others like Atheist, Cynic and Fates Warning becoming underground legends and younger acts such as Periphery now making a name for them self in the field. It’s hard to pinpoint a time or which band specifically really launched the genre, but there are those who certainly need to be name checked and acknowledged as an important part of it, one of which would be Watchtower.

The band were formed in Austin, Texas in 1982 by guitarist Billy White and drummer, Rick Colaluca, with Doug Keyser joining soon afterwards on bass and eventually brought in Jason McMaster on vocals. They initially performed covers of bands from the New Wave of British Heavy Metal such as Raven and Iron Maiden, as well as older heavy rock like Thin Lizzy before working on their own material. They made their recording debut the next year with a contribution to a Texas Hardcore Compilation, in the guise of the song, "Meltdown," which they would later release themselves as a demo, which featured three other tracks. More...

Read more...  |  4 Comments - Discuss

Aeon Posts New Drum-Cam Live Video

Aeon is streaming a new drum-cam live video showcasing Emil Wiksten blasting through the song "Blessed By The Priest".

You can now watch the new clip below (courtesy of sickdrummermagazine).

0 Comments - Discuss

Vermörd Posts Entire New Debut Album

Maryland-based blackened death metal outfit Vermörd is offering the full streaming premiere of the debut release "Dawn Of The Black Harvest" which is set to drop on April 14th, via Grimoire Records.

Check out now the entire new album below.

0 Comments - Discuss

Spires Posts Entire New Album

Hailing from Manchester, UK progressive death metal outfit Spires premieres the new album "The Whisperer" released via Eulogy Media.

You can now stream the entire album below.

0 Comments - Discuss