"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Metal News for February 5, 2005

Last updated on August 31, 2015 at 3:07 PM ET

We post metal news every day, throughout the day, covering thousands of metal bands including underground and unsigned bands. You are currently browsing the news archive, but you can also find news by band.

6 news articles posted on this day.

Invocator Drummer Joins ex-Withering Surface

INVOCATOR drummer Jakob Gundel has recently spent time in the studio recording five tracks for a new project called THE DOWNWARD CANDIDATE. In addition to Gundel, the project features Allan Tvedebrink and Kasper B of the now-defunct Danish melodeathsters WITHERING SURFACE. Vocal duties are being handled by Kim Orneborg of the Danish band MUGSHOT. The drums for the project have been recorded and next up are guitars, vocals and bass.

The five tracks, which will be released as a promo CD, will be produced by Lars Mayland (previously guitarist in KONKHRA and FURIOUS TRAUMA). The group's musical style is a mix between hardcore and thrash, according to Gundel.

INVOCATOR recently spent time at mainman Jacob Hansen's Hansen Studios in Ribe, Denmark recording four new tracks. The band hope to complete the songwriting sessions for a new full-length album in the summer.

0 Comments - Discuss

Obituary Guitarist Talks About New Record

In a recent interview with Metal Maniacs magazine, OBITUARY guitarist Trevor Peres spoke about the songwriting process for the group's much-anticipated new studio album, tentatively due in June via Roadrunner Records. "It's what you would expect from us," he said. "I'm not sure I know what people expect from OBITUARY, but we're going to do what we do. There's some slick, chunky, groovy shit that makes you want to bash heads, you know?! There are driving songs; songs that make you wanna get in your car and out your pedal to the metal."

Metal Maniacs: Where would it fit in with the rest of the OBITUARY catalog?

Trevor Peres: "It's hard for me to say. Some of my songs are being influenced by HELLHAMMER right now, it's ridiculous. The last four years, I've been listening to nothing but HELLHAMMER [laughing]. I'm sitting there writing these two-chord riffs that are so fast and heavy but it's like that old HELLHAMMER, you know [sound effects]. It's just heavy." More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Teen Who Hid Virus In Priest & 'Deth Lyrics Jailed

According to I.T. Vibe, a teenager from Minnesota who included a link inside an Internet worm to his web site where he made viruses available for download alongside lyrics for songs by JUDAS PRIEST and MEGADETH has been sentenced to 18 months in prison and 10 months community service by a U.S. District Court.

Jeffrey Lee Parson's worm, the so-called Blaster-B Internet worm, infected 48,000 computers and caused an estimated $1.2 million in damage when it spread in August 2003.

Graham Cluley, senior technology consultant for Sophos, commented, "An 18-month prison sentence is probably the best that Jeffrey Parson could have realistically hoped for. The U.S. authorities have demonstrated their determination to deal with virus writers and other cybercriminals. Parson's sentence sends out a strong message to other young people that writing viruses is a fool's game. Parson and his parents will be regretting the day he decided to get involved in virus-writing."

Parson, who went by the online handle of "Teekid", based his virus upon the virulent Blaster-A worm which exploited a serious security hole in Microsoft's software as it spread around the globe.

15 Comments - Discuss

Dawn of Azazel Announce New Drummer

New Zealand-based Black/Death outfit DAWN OF AZAZEL have announced the addition of drummer Martin Cavanagh to the group's ranks. Martin's "arrival brings to an end many months of searching for a replacement for Phill Osborne, who was removed from the lineup following [DAWN OF AZAZEL's] Australian tour because of his lack of commitment to the band," the group write in a statement.

DAWN OF AZAZEL are currently writing and rehearsing new material with a view towards recording their second album and releasing it in May. In the meantime, the band will embark on a tour with PUNGENT STENCH in March and a New Zealand tour in April.

0 Comments - Discuss

Ragnarok Writing, Preparing To Record New Album

Norwegian black metallers RAGNAROK have posted the following message on their official web site:

"RAGNAROK is writing new songs these days and have about three songs ready. A date for entering the studio has not been set yet but so far RAGNAROK is thinking about returning to the Abyss and work together with Tommy Tägtgren once more... RAGNAROK is also searching for a good management these days for professional support.

"New gigs will be announced soon but at the moment our first priority is set at making a new album."

RAGNAROK released their fifth album, "Blackdoor Miracle", in February 2004 through Sweden's Regain Records. The follow-up to 2002's "In Nomine Satanas" was the group's first to feature "demonic" singer Hoest (TAAKE), who replaced Lord Arcamous in 2003. "Blackdoor Miracle" was recorded and mixed at Abyss Studio in Sweden with engineer/mixer Tommy Tägtgren and was mastered at The Mastering Room in Gothenburg, Sweden.

0 Comments - Discuss

Havochate Sign With Indecent Media

New York-based metal band Havochate, now featuring former Testament bassist Greg Christian, have signed a new worldwide deal with Indecent Media. The group's sophomore album, "Cycle of Pain", is scheduled for release on February 15.

The follow-up to 2003's "This Violent Earth", which was released through Root Of All Evil Records, was recorded at Pyramid Sound Recording Studios in Ithaca, New York with producer Alex Perialas (Testament, Anthrax, Overkill). Handling the drums on the upcoming CD is former Testament/Slayer member Jon Dette (who has since left the band and has been replaced by a returning Ovie Rodriguez). In addition to Christian, the as-yet-untitled effort will mark the recording debut with the group of new frontman Tim Bouchee, who was brought into the fold in 2003 after the departure of vocalist Jon Mallek.

"Cycle of Pain" track listing:

01. Cycle of Pain
02. Tentacle
03. Fiction
04. Still Alive
05. Alone
06. Wicked
07. Cold Embrace
08. Crack in the Sky
09. Speak No More
10. Buried In Lies
11. Rotting Hour

Audio samples of all 11 tracks are available for download at this location.

0 Comments - Discuss