"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Metal News for February 11, 2006

Last updated on September 21, 2017 at 2:43 AM ET

We post metal news every day, throughout the day, covering thousands of metal bands including underground and unsigned bands. You are currently browsing the news archive, but you can also find news by band.

3 news articles posted on this day.

Columbia To Release "The Essential Judas Priest"

Columbia Records/Legacy Recordings will release the two-CD set 'The Essential Judas Priest' on April 4, 2006. Judas Priest rocketed out of the tough steel town of Birmingham, England, more than three decades ago, and the 34 songs collected here form nothing less than the very backbone of heavy metal.

The core of vocalist Rob Halford, lead guitarists Glenn Tipton and K.K. Downing and bass guitarist Ian Hill worked with several drummers in the earlier years, with longtime current member Scott Travis rounding out the definitive lineup due to his incredible power and versatility.

All the songs on 'The Essential Judas Priest' are the complete original studio album versions featuring the Halford/Tipton/Downing/Hill axis -- from the 1976 landmark 'Sad Wings Of Destiny' through the astonishing 2005 reunion platter 'Angel Of Retribution'.

The track listing is as follows: More...

Read more...  |  18 Comments - Discuss

Former 24th Solution Singer Killed

Joey Meszaros (aka Joey Struggle), former vocalist for Lancaster, PA hardcore band 24th Solution, was killed while riding his bike home from work early this past week. Meszaros leaves behind a wife and a three year-old son. Sadly, he did not have life insurance. As such, friends are setting up some benefit shows in addition to a PayPal account for donations. If you have anything to spare, make a donation via PayPal to CATKNUCKLES@YAHOO.COM.

Additional information can be found here.

4 Comments - Discuss

Dryline Posts Another Track Online

Dallas, TX based Dryline are streaming a 3rd track, “Upon This Blade” from their upcoming Zero-Sum Recordings debut. The track can be heard via their Myspace page. The track is also available on the upcoming AMP Magazine sampler. Two other tracks, “Cast For Your Heart” and “Last Day To Forget” are now available for download from their Myspace page as well.

Their CD titled Reach For The Surface was produced by D Braxton Henry (A Dozen Furies, Jacknife) at 379 Productions in Dallas, TX. The CD will be released by Zero-Sum Recordings March 7, 2006.

Dryline’s tour with label mates Jacknife begins on Feb 10 in Waco, TX.

Feb 10 2006 8:00P - Missions w/PENSYVE and HATCHETWORK Waco, TX
Feb 11 2006 8:00P - Longhorn Bar & Grill w/Blood Red Disciple and Nothing Hour Abilene , TX
Feb 12 2006 8:00P - Shakespeare’s Ale House w/Hatchetwork Austin, TX
Feb 13 2006 8:00P - The Meridian w/Neopocracy and Deep Above Surface Houston, TX
Feb 14 2006 8:00P - Subliminal Skatepark w/Enemy Breed on this day of love;) Sulphur, LA
Feb 15 2006 8:00P - Downtown Music and Records w/Drop Dead Syndicate Little Rock, AR
Feb 16 2006 8:00P - Hesher's w/Ft. Smith , AR
Feb 17 2006 8:00P - Nathan P. Murphy's w/Springfield, MO
Feb 19 2006 8:00P - The Red Kitten w/Dead Gone Salina, KS
Feb 20 2006 8:00P - Boobie Trap Bar w/Topeka, KS
Feb 21 2006 8:00P - Classics w/grindscape and Sanguine Addiction Colorado Springs, CO

2 Comments - Discuss