"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Metal News for November 16, 2019

Last updated on September 23, 2020 at 4:26 PM ET

We post metal news every day, throughout the day, covering thousands of metal bands including underground and unsigned bands. You are currently browsing the news archive, but you can also find news by band.

8 news articles posted on this day.

Sons Of Apollo Posts New Music Video Online

Sons Of Apollo--former Dream Theater members Mike Portnoy and Derek Sherinian, Ron "Bumblefoot" Thal (ex-Guns N' Roses), Billy Sheehan (The Winery Dogs, Mr. Big, David Lee Roth) and Jeff Scott Soto (ex-Journey, ex-Yngwie Malmsteen's Rising Force)--are ready to ring in the new decade with a sonic boom with their second studio album, appropriately titled, "MMXX" (pronounced: 20/20).

Produced by The Del Fuvio Brothers (Portnoy and Sherinian), "MMXX" will be released on the 17th January 2020 via InsideOutMusic/Sony as a standard CD package, Limited Edition 2 CD package (which includes instrumental mixes and a cappella excerpts), 2 LP + CD package, and on all digital formats. They have now released a video for the song, "Goodbye Divinity," directed by Vicente Cordero, which can be seen below. More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Despised Icon Posts New Lyric Video Online

Canadian deathcore veterans Despised Icon has posted a new lyric video online for the song, "Light Speed." You can check it out below. The song comes from the group's brand new album, "Purgatory," which was released yesterday through Nuclear Blast Records.

Despised Icon's Eric Jarrin comments, "It's with great pleasure that we release our new album 'Purgatory'. We gave everything we had on this one and a lot of heart and soul went into the making of these songs. This is 100% Despised Icon!" More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Marilyn Manson To Join Ozzy Osbourne On Tour

When Ozzy Osbourne relaunches his No More Tours 2 in 2020, he'll be joined by special guest Marilyn Manson for the North American shows.

These dates are Ozzy's first shows since he announced earlier this year that all his 2019 performances would be postponed allowing him to heal from an injury sustained while dealing with pneumonia. The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee and Grammy-winning singer and songwriter and 2019 Grammy Special Merit Award recipient fell at his Los Angeles home and trapped his spine aggravating years-old injuries (from his 2003 ATV accident) that required surgery.

The No More Tours 2 kicks off May 27 in Atlanta and concludes July 31 in Las Vegas. Next up, Osbourne will head overseas in October for the rescheduled UK and European dates; Judas Priest will remain as support on the tour as part of their JP/50 Heavy Metal Years anniversary tour.

"Marilyn is killer live," Ozzy says. "He's so fucking out there, and if I think that, then look out, we're all fucked."

"I've toured with Ozzy many times and it's always been fucking spectacular," says Marilyn Manson. "I'm honored to do it again. This is one not to miss."

The tour dates are as follows: More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Three More Acts Added To 70000 Tons Of Metal

The organisers of the 70000 Tons Of Metal cruise has announced a further three bands for next year's edition of the event. Joining the ranks will be Israeli veterans Orphaned Land, Dutch symphonic black metal outfit Carach Angren and deathgrind favourites Cattle Decapitation. This brings the number of bands up to thirty five, with sixty in total to perform. The ship will set sail to Cozumel, Mexico on January 7th and return to Fort Lauderdale, Florida on January 11th.

The lineup is now as follows:

Aether Realm
Archon Angel
At The Gates
Carach Angren
Cattle Decapitation
Devin Townsend
Flotsam And Jetsam
Grave Digger
Kissin' Dynamite
Leaves Eyes
Michael Schenker Fest
Omnium Gatherum
Orphaned Land
The Agonist

0 Comments - Discuss

Rage Posts New Music Video Online

Yesterday saw the arrival of the second new Rage single and video, for the song "True". The song is also included on the forthcoming album, Wings Of Rage. Watch the video below.

Few metal acts can look back at as comprehensive, multi-faceted and varied a career as Rage. Founded in spring 1983 in Herne in Germany’s Ruhr region, the band surrounding vocalist/bassist Peavy Wagner has integrated a wide range of stylistic nuances into its musical concept. There have been releases which focused primarily on hard thrash sounds, but also recordings featuring anthemnic power metal as well as albums with a – in the true sense of the word – symphonic orientation. Wings Of Rage, the latest offering by the three-piece, consists of all this and much more. Peavy and his colleagues Marcos Rodriguez (guitar) and Vassilios Maniatopoulos (drums) have succeeded in summarising the diversity and experience of almost 37 years of band history in twelve topical songs, starting a new chapter at the same time.

Thanks to the diversity on Wings Of Rage, Wagner, Rodriguez and Maniatopoulos can be one hundred percent certain that every fan will find something to their very own, personal taste. Friends of earthy thrash tracks with a typical Rage attitude will get their money’s worth mostly on numbers such as the opener "True" with its sinister verse, the lead single "Let Them Rest In Peace", the title track "Wings Of Rage" and the intense "Don’t Let Me Down". Aficionados of atmospherically dense power metal anthems will love "Tomorrow" and "Chasing The Twilight Zone", while elements of classic orchestrations, as featured on Rage’s 1998 album classic XIII, mark the progressive "A Nameless Grave" and the ballad "Shine A Light". More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Slipknot To Launch Knotfest Cruise

Knotfest, the music and lifestyle phenomenon created by multi-platinum, genre defining metal band, Slipknot, has announced its first ever cruise event, Knotfest At Sea. Furthering the global expansion of the Knotfest experience, the inaugural voyage of the Knotfest At Sea cruise will set sail from Barcelona on August 10, 2020 returning on August 14.

Knotfest At Sea will be headlined by Slipknot who will perform two sets on board the ship with the full lineup and on board experiences still to be announced. For more info, head to www.knotfestatsea.com

You've experienced the cultural and musical experience of Knotfest. Now, for the first time ever, witness rock history when the Knotfest At Sea cruise sets sail. A teaser trailer featuring percussionist Clown can be seen below. More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Konvent Posts New Lyric Video Online

Up and coming Danish death/doom outfit Konvent has uploaded a new lyric video for the song, "Trust." You can check it out below. The track comes from their forthcoming debut album, "Puritan Masochism," which is set to be released through Napalm Records on January 24th.

0 Comments - Discuss

Suicide Silence Posts New Music Video Online

California based extreme metal titans Suicide Silence will release their sixth studio album, "Become The Hunter," on February 14, 2020 via Nuclear Blast.

Today, the band unleashes the music video for "Love Me To Death". Directed by Scott Hansen of Digital Thunderdome. The new 18+ music video can be seen below.

"Become The Hunter" will be available in the following formats:
CD Jewel Case
Bone with Black Splatter (Limited to 1500)
Clear with Black/White Splatter (Limited to 600) More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss