"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Metal News for January 21, 2017

Last updated on January 22, 2019 at 11:39 AM ET

We post metal news every day, throughout the day, covering thousands of metal bands including underground and unsigned bands. You are currently browsing the news archive, but you can also find news by band.

11 news articles posted on this day.

Just For Fun

Richard Spencer Punched In The Face To Hatebreed

In case anyone missed it in the social media barrage, Richard Spencer (president of the white supremacist group National Policy Institute) managed to get himself clocked pretty good on live television yesterday.

You might recall seeing Spencer's name in the news lately due to a dust up with the citizens of Whitefish in my home state of Montana, in which he planned an armed white supremacist march protesting Jewish members of the community.

After heavy media scrutiny and a grassroots awareness campaign, he was out-protested by a bunch of more heavily armed Montanans who don't put up with that sort of shit.

Back to the video of Spencer taking a fist to the face: a true Twitter hero named Zayn synced a portion of the footage up with Hatebreed's "Everyone Bleeds Now." Bravo sir!

2 Comments - Discuss

Illimitable Dolor Posts "Abandoned Cuts Of River"

Australian atmospheric death/doom group Illimitable Dolor is gearing up to release a new self-titled album on March 22nd, 2017 via Transcending Obscurity Records. Today new song "Abandoned Cuts of River" comes online and can be heard below. The album's full track listing consists of:

1. Rail of Moon, A Stone
2. Comet Dies or Shines (streaming here)
3. Salt of Brazen Seas
4. Abandoned Cuts of River More...

Read more...  |  1 Comment - Discuss

Cryptic Realms Posts Full Album Online

Cryptic Realms is an international collaborative death metal band, consisting of all active members of other bands such as Abyssus (Greece), Necrorite (USA/Mexico), Offal (Brazil) and Tritton (Mexico).

New album "Enraptured By Horror" saw official release at the tail end of 2016, and now all the tracks are online for streaming below or over at Bandcamp here. The album's track listing is as follows:

1. Enraptured by Horror 05:00
2. Doomed Cathedrals 04:12
3. In Mortal Distress 04:18
4. Total Demise 03:33
5. Sinister Force Descends 03:28
6. Vulgar Exhumation 05:50
7. Begging to be Dead 03:10
8. Act of Derangement 05:09 More...

Read more...  |  1 Comment - Discuss

Fall Of Carthage Streaming Full Album

Fall Of Carthage will release new album "The Longed For Reckoning" on January 27th, 2017 through MDD Records, but today the entire release has come online for early streaming.

These sixteen songs represent a genre-defying creativity and joy for experimentation, as well as a love for detail and natural sounds. Those who expect programmed blast beats and typical thrash or metalcore structures will be in for a surprise.

1. Fast Forward
2. Dust And Dirt
3. Sick Intentions
4. They’re Alive
5. Swept To The Edge
6. Complete
7. For The Soul To Save
8. Whodini Peckawood
9. Suffer The Pain
10. Down Like Honey
11. Tapeworms
12. Paint It White
13. Bury The Crisis
14. Puerile Scumbag
15. Turning Point
16. Black December More...

Read more...  |  1 Comment - Discuss

September Mourning Releases New Video

September Mourning just released an official music video for "20 Below," taken off the "Volume II" album, which is out now on Sumerian Records.

"20 Below" follows the continuing story of human-reaper hybrid September through parallel story lines as she is pursued between two worlds. The band further comments: "'20 Below' is about ending the cycle of abuse within our own lives, whether it's self inflicted or from an outside source.

"We’ve all had those relationships where someone has gotten close to us, abuses us in some way… knocks us down so hard it diminishes our self esteem. '20 Below' is about the realization that the beat down feeling and feelings of worthlessness are untrue and being caused by some external negativity. It's about being strong enough within your own self to rise above.

"There are no saviors or messiah coming to save us. There's only the strength in our hearts and our souls, which is greater than we can even conceive. It’s great enough to be the catalyst to save our own selves if we find a way to tap into that part of ourselves." More...

Read more...  |  1 Comment - Discuss

Letters From The Fire Releasing "Worth The Pain"

U.S. hard rock band Letters From The Fire will release debut album "Worth The Pain" in Europe/UK on March 18th, 2017 via Sand Hill Records/Cargo Records. The album was produced, engineered, mixed, and mastered by Kile Odell (Motionless in White, Cursed Sails, Killwhitneydead, Vanisher). The track listing is as follows:

1. Perfect Life
2. Mother Misery
3. Give in to Me
4. Bruised
5. Live a Lie
6. My Angel
7. Last December
8. Holy Ghost
9. At War
10. Control
11. Worth the Pain
12. Scars
13. One Foot in the Grave More...

Read more...  |  1 Comment - Discuss

Egonaut Premieres New Song & Music Video "Initium"

Sweden’s doom 'n' roll metal band Egonaut premieres a new song and music video entitled "Initium", taken from the band's upcoming new album, which will be out in stores sometime in 2017 via Mighty Music. The video was filmed and edited by Walka Sights and Sounds.

Check out now "Initium" below.

1 Comment - Discuss

Hellmouth Premieres Pre-Release Full-Album Stream

Detroit metal crossover outfit Hellmouth premieres the pre-release full-album stream of the band's upcoming new album "Oblivion", which will arrive in stores January 27th via Fast Break! Records.

Check out now "Oblivion" in its entirety below.

Says vocalist Jay Navarro about the upcoming full-length: More...

Read more...  |  1 Comment - Discuss

HellYeah Premieres New Music Video "Love Falls"

Hellyeah just released a new music video for "Love Falls" which can be seen below. The clip was again produced and directed by William "Wombat" Felch and comes off the "Undeniable" album.

1 Comment - Discuss

While She Sleeps Debuts "You Are We"

While She Sleeps debuts the title track of the band's upcoming new crowdfunded album "You Are We", which will be out in stores April 21st.

Check out now "You Are We" below.

1 Comment - Discuss

Backwordz Premieres New Song "Self Ownership"

Texas-based rap metal band Backwordz premieres a new song entitled "Self Ownership", taken from the upcoming new album "Veracity", will be released on March 31st through Stay Sick Recordings -the label headed up by Attila frontman Chris Fronzak, who also guests on the track and in the video.

Check out now "Self Ownership" below.

1 Comment - Discuss