"some music was meant to stay underground..."

New Album "Utopian Void" Detailed By Distant Past

Swiss melodic progressive metal act Distant Past, featuring ex-Emerald members Jvo Julmy (vocals),
Andy Bächler (drums) and Adriano Troiano (bass), has announced the band's forth studio release "Utopian Void" will be issued on January 17th via Pure Steel Records.

According to the press release: "Apart from the Megadeth-like 'On the Edge,' most Songs are in the melodic Power Metal Vein, which suits Jvo so well. 'Kingdom of Shadows' maintains a very Madien-esque Bass and Guitar Groove; 'The Illusion,' 'Helpless' and 'A Day of Darkness' showcase the band in full 80’s Mode, while 'Breath – The Spell' and 'Faces' show a softer side of the band, but only in parts…. The final track 'The Hell of Verdun' is a journey into World War One. It takes the listerner through the stages of the most horrendous fights in human history.

"Due to popular demand, the first issue of 'Utopian Void' includes 2 Bonus Tracks, previously available online: 'Touched by the Gods' is a Sabbath-Style Song, written by A. Troiano in memory of the great Ronnie James Dio and 'Sings of the End,' a very catchy song, that [was] featured on the Heavy Metal Nation CD Sampler, [which] presents the best Swiss Bands every year."

1. A Day Of Darkness
2. Sceptre
3. On The Edge
4. Faces
5. Kingdom Of Shadows
6. Helpless
7. Guided By The Stars
8. Breath – The Spell
9. The Illusion
10. The Hell Of Verdun
11. Signs Of The End (Bonus Track)
12. Touched By the Gods (Bonus Track)

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Distant Past Details New Album 'Utopian Void'"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.