"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Sorcery Releasing 2CD Set "Unholy Creations"

Sorcery is releasing the "Unholy Creations" 2CD set via Hells Headbangers, with the full track listing available below. The following press release was also issued:

"In the rich and storied history of Swedish death metal, the tale of Sorcery is a unique one. Not only were Sorcery in on the ground floor of the Swedeath boom that began in earnest at the turn of the '90s, their sound predated the simultaneous black metal boom in the greater Scandinavian region. Now, courtesy of Hells Headbangers, that tale can be told across a deluxe two-disc compendium fittingly titled Unholy Creations.

"Originally released as a limited vinyl set, the 2CD Unholy Creations compiles all of Sorcery's demos prior to their cult debut album from 1991, Bloodchilling Tales, as well the proceeding Maculated Life demo from 1992 and rare rehearsal and compilation tracks. For the band's first few demos, recorded during 1987 and 1988, Sorcery unleashed an increasingly frenzied yet darkly melodic form of death metal that also possessed a morbid atmosphere similar to '80s contemporaries Mayhem, Tormentor, and Mortuary Drape, hitting a fever pitch with their classic Unholy Crusade demo in 1989. Their attack remained restless 'n' wild, but a purer, more quintessentially Swedeath sound developed by the time of their debut album, captured here by the rare Maculated Life demo.

"But through it all and until their demise in 1997, the now-reanimated Sorcery stuck to their evil guns and never stopped the madness: relive it again with Unholy Creations!"


"THE ARRIVAL" Demo 1987:
1. Halloween
2. Witches Dance / Infernal Return
3. Satan's Return
4. Narration...
5. Master of Evil
6. March of the Mountain KIng
7. Satanic Birth
8. The Light of the Midnight Sun
9. Flight of the Sorceress
10. Epilogue (Midnight Sundown)

11. Ancient Creation
12. In the Sign of Evil
13. Black Wizard
14. Lucifers Legions
15. Holocaust
16. Mausoleum
17. Aggression


1. Unholy Crusade
2. Death
3. Dragons of the Burning Twilight
4. Descends to the Ashes
5. Count of Hades

6. Maculated Life
7. Mass Murder
8. Insanity Arise

"ANCIENT CREATION" (bonus track from 1st pressing):
9. Pandemonium

10. At the Rainbow's End
11. Kill, Kill, Kill and Kill again
12. Obscure Beauty

"VOICES OF DEATH" comp 1997:
13. Inhabitants

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Sorcery Releasing 2CD Set"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.