"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Sandrider Posts New Song "Gorgon"

Sandrider has teamed up with Invisible Oranges to stream the track "Gorgon" online, which can be heard below. The following press release was also issued about the band's new album:

"For sophomore album 'Godhead,' Sandrider once again enlisted producer/engineer Matt Bayles (Isis, Mastodon, The Sword, Tragedy) to helm the recording process. But things have changed since the creation of the band's debut. Specifically, Akimbo amicably broke up, putting Sandrider as a central musical focus for its members. The added attention, in addition to the four-year gestation period for the new material, has yielded an even more distilled and potent formula.

"Right from the get-go, the malevolent call-to-arms and 'We Will Rock You' kick-and-snare stomp of opening track 'Ruiner' let’s the listener know Godhead is geared towards ferocious hooks and unrepentant rock n’ roll worship. From there, 'Castle' trades off between the tightly wound rhythm section-propelled verses of Jesus Lizard and the single-coil bombasts of Drive Like Jehu, all while maintaining their signature bottom-end roar.

"Gorgon finds the band flexing their classic-rock chops through the filter of their beefed-up gear, much as Melvins did on Stoner Witch or Harvey Milk pulled off on The Pleaser. Title track 'Godhead' is their magnum opus, a dynamic 7-minute exploration of tension and release, with a throat-shredding payoff proving Weisnewski can hit notes that fellow melodic sludge bands like Baroness and Torche can only dream of. And unlike so many of their peers, Sandrider doesn’t relent in the latter half of their album. The straight-forward charge of 'Champions,' the shout-along chorus of 'Scalpel,' and the snarling swagger of 'Beast' help propel the album through the climactic finale of 'Traveler.'"

The track listing is as follows:

1. Ruiner
2. Castle
3. Tides
4. Gorgon
5. Godhead
6. Overwatch
7. Champions
8. Scalpel
9. Beast
10. Traveler

See the band live:

11/10 - Vancouver BC @ Rickshaw w/ Red Fang, Bison BC
11/30 - Seattle, WA @ Neumos w/ Constant Lovers, Dust Moth (LP Release)
12/5 - Seattle, WA @ Easy Street Records (FREE In-store!)
12/7 - Portland, OR @ White Owl Social Club w/ Gaytheist

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Sandrider Posts 'Gorgon' Track"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.