"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Antropofago Recruits Nicolas Alberny As New Guitarist

Photo of Antropofago

Band Photo: Antropofago (?)

France's Antropofago (not to be confused with Antropofagus) has boasted guitar-crafting wizard Hugo Mermet (maker of custom guitars for Gorod, Insain and many more) in its ranks for most of the band's existence.

However, it has always been understood that a time might come where Mermet's business would hinder his ability to be a full-time contributor to Antropofago. That time came recently when the band was at work on upcoming full-length album, "Aera Dementiae."

Thus, a mutual decision was made to find a suitable replacement once the recording process was finished.

That replacement was quickly found in Gorod guitarist Nicolas Alberny. With Antropofago's fetish for musicianship and guitar technique, it was no surprise that a guitarist of Alberny's caliber would answer the band's call. Having already recorded some guest parts for the new album, Alberny knew what to expect once he joined the fold.

Guitarist Gordon Huillery comments, "Since Hugo joined Antropofago three years ago, the deal was clear - having fun while playing a brutal brand of Technical Death Metal without messing with his job as a luthier. His business is growing, orders are following one an other and it became clear time has come for him to focus on his main goal : building awesome guitars. We both decided it was time to search for a replacement, even though he obviously stays an important element of the band's surrounding as our guitar-crafter and, most important, as a close friend. When people started to get aware of the fact we were searching for a new guitarist, we received a lot of applications, the first one being from Nicolas. We know each other since sometimes now, we get along well and, knowing his work for Gorod, it was obvious he has the needed technical level to join the band. I'm happy we're still working as a family and Hugo will always be around as he's building guitars for both bands and will continue filling-in for Nico if he has to work with Gorod which obviously stays his main priority."

Regarding his decision to join Antropofago, Alberny states, "I like the band's music and I wanted to play something else, with other people and, well, Antropofago's straight-forward brutal and technical so it was an obvious choice."

Recorded this summer, Antropofago's new full-length, "Æra Dementiæ," featuring guest performances from Gorod, as well as label-mates Nephren-Ka and Savage Annihilation, will be released in early 2014 through Kaotoxin records. The track listing is:

1. Intro
2. Encounter with the Doppelgänger
3. Body Cell
4. Helter Skelter
5. Æra Dementiæ
6. Paranoid Visions (pt.2)
7. The Other Me
8. God ov Fire
9. Voices
10. Insania Lupina

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Antropofago Recruits Gorod Guitarist"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.