"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Iron Man Streaming New Song "The Worst And Longest Day"

Maryland/DC based doom pioneers Iron Man have debuted a new song from their forthcoming effort, "South of the Earth."

Listen to "The Worst and Longest Day" now via The Obelisk at this location. "South of the Earth" will be released on October 1st via Metal Blade. The label also comments:

"Rising out of the same Maryland/DC mean streets as fellow US doom pioneers Pentagram and The Obsessed, Iron Man was formed in 1988 as a Black Sabbath tribute band by guitarist Alfred Morris III, whose musical career began in 1977 with mysterious proto-doom cult Force. Al's legendarily heavy, unearthly guitar tone was already much in evidence on Force's ultra-rare 1981 debut EP - and it has only deepened, hardened, improved and refined in the ensuing 32 years."

"The main thing for me is Al's tone," enthuses Lee Dorrian, owner of Rise Above Records and Morris worshipper since the late 80s. "It's so brutal but in a natural way, no frills, straight for the gut. Listening to his riffs is like being stuck in a vat of molasses, unable to move with a rotating grinder lodged into the middle of your forehead down to the base of your stomach. It's that heavy!"

In 2010, Maryland doom circuit veteran "Screaming Mad" Dee Calhoun joined Iron Man on vocals, recording two EPs before starting work on "'South Of The Earth."

"Every time Iron Man goes into the studio, we treat it like a blank canvas. As things progress, the art form takes shape," says Al Morris on the band's creative process. "We wrote this album in about 2 months. Then we practiced our asses off to perfect the performance of the songs. This CD was done with Frank Marchand, an engineer/producer with a head full of ideas! He enhanced every element of this CD. We have great trust in Frank and followed his ideas. This is what came out!"

Asked how Al feels the latest incarnation of Iron Man compares to the line-ups he's worked with over the last few decades, his reply displays a heartening, positive renewed enthusiasm for the bullishly durable group he founded all those years ago. "I am not the only person pushing the band forward!" he beams. "Now all of the band is pushing in the same direction!! We can write great songs together and perform on stage with lots of energy!"

The track listing for "South of the Earth" is:

1. South of the Earth
2. Hail to the Haze (streaming here)
3. The Whore in Confession
4. The Worst and Longest Day
5. Aerial Changed the Sky
6. IISOEO (The Day of the Beast)
7. Half-Face / Thy Brother's Keeper (Dunwich Pt 2)
8. In the Velvet Darkness
9. The Ballad of Ray Garraty

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Iron Man Streaming New Track"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.