"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Prospekt Reveals "The Colourless Sunrise" Details

This Autumn, Sensory Records will release the energetic and unrestrained nine-track opus entitled "The Colourless Sunrise" -- the maiden full-length album from Oxford, England's Prospekt -- now locked down for an October 22nd street date.

Today Sea Of Tranquilly is hosting a listen to the album's opening track, "A Desolate Kingdom," which can be heard in the player below. The following press release was also issued about the album:

"The recently completed The Colourless Sunrise was recorded by the band and then mixed by world renowned producer Jens Bogren (Opeth, Katatonia, Daylight Dies, Amon Amarth, Symphony X) and Adam 'Nolly' Getgood (of Periphery), and mastered by Borgen as well. Surging beyond the one-hour mark, the huge The Colourless Sunrise recording builds upon the solid foundation Prospekt constructed on their self-titled 2011-released debut EP, expanding their spires of vibrant, modern take on their respective genre to much greater heights.

"Influenced by bands such as Dream Theater, Symphony X, Opeth and Circus Maximus, as well as film scores and fusion, Prospekt combines the fierce technicality of progressive metal with the symphonic elements of contemporary prog. From brutal riffs coupled with odd time-signatures, to majestic melodies, the principle of the band's music is to create an intelligent and atmospheric mix of melodic, modern progressive metal. Incorporating passionate higher ranged vocals, frenetic guitar work, haunting orchestration and solid grooves, every composition remains both interesting and original. The album's cover art was created by Mattias Noren / ProgArt Media (Into Eternity, Evergrey, Wolverine, etc.)."

In the coming weeks, Prospekt will be filming an official video for another track from the album to be released closer to its release date. Additionally, the band will begin to perform material from "The Colourless Sunrise" live in support of the album, beginning with a record release show in Oxford on November 15th and much more to follow.

The album's track listing is as follows:

1. A Desolate Kingdom
2. Dissident Priests
3. Eternal Memories
4. Shroud
5. The Colourless Sunrise
6. Visions
7. The Great Awakening
8. Shutter Asylum
9. Hunting Poseidon

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Prospekt Reveals New Album Details"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.