"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Rising Announces "Abominor" Album, Lineup Changes

Danish doom-infused metal outfit Rising today confirms the release of a pending second LP this Fall, on the band's own newly-founded independent label, Indisciplinarian. The following press release was issued about the coming album:

"After two crushing EPs, Rising released debut album 'To Solemn Ash' via Exile On Mainstream in 2011, after which the band toured extensively, playing more than fifty shows throughout Europe. In the meantime, the band forged new and fiercer material, fuelled by growing differences within the band. The result is Rising's second album, 'Abominor,' now confirmed for an early November release. The album was to be the final material from this particular constellation of the band, marking the end of an era, and a new beginning...

"Containing nine tracks running nearly forty minutes in duration, Abominor displays a faster, more aggressive and gritty side to the Rising sound. With the songwriting process the band envisioned a somewhat harsher and loose album as a development from the more epic and melodic songs of To Solemn Ash, incorporating more punk influences while remaining true to the trademark Rising sound. Abominor was produced by Jakob Reichert Nielsen, who also produced the band's To Solemn Ash LP and their debut EP, and the artwork created by singer/bassist Henrik Hald.

"However, Abominor is to be the last album from this incarnation of Rising. The year leading up to the recording of the album had shown severe disagreements creatively and personally within the band, and upon completion of the album, drummer Johansen and singer/bassist Hald left the band. Abominor thereby signifies the end of an era for Rising and as a result of the demise, there will be no tours or live performances directly in support of the album.

"But the exit of Hald and Johansen will not mark the end of Rising, rather it marks a new beginning. Main composer, guitarist and remaining member Jacob Krogholt has teamed up with original drummer Martin Niemann, who formed the band alongside Krogholt in 2008, played on the debut EP and co-wrote tracks from the Legacy of Wolves single and To Solemn Ash. Krogholt and Niemann will continue Rising with a rebuilt lineup and are currently busy writing new material to be recorded and performed live in the course of 2014."

"Abominor" is due out digitally worldwide on November 4th, 2013. The track listing is as follows:

1. The Disdain
2. Reproach
3. Vengeance is Timeless
4. The Hills Below
5. Leech
6. Suffering Nameless
7. Broken Asunder
8. The Malice
9. Gaunt

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Rising Announces 'Abominor' Album"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.