"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Purtenance Announces New Album "Awaken From Slumber"

The second album from Finland's Purtenance is finished and will be released through Xtreem Music on October 1st, with a vinyl version to follow later this year.

After 2012's comeback EP "Sacrifice the King," the band added second guitarist Ville Nokelainen and entered the studio in spring 2013 to record this new album entitled "Awaken From Slumber." Xtreem Music comments:

"For those who expect a 'Member…II,' they won't find it here. That album was done over 20 years ago with a different line up. The 'Awaken From Slumber' album shows the heaviest and darkest side of the band. This is how Purtenance sounds 2013! A fucking crushing, heavy and gloomy Death Metal with inhuman brutal vocals. Those who weren't satisfied with their previous EP should give it a listen to this new album cos they'll be gladly surprised!"

The track listing is as follows:

1. Intro
2. Hatred
3. What Was Hidden
4. Toxic Death
5. Field of Terror
6. Vaikka Paahtuisin Tulessa
7. End for the Parasites (Called Humankind)
8. Hour of the Cannibal
9. Temptation of Suicide
10. Risen From Grave
11. Endless Abyss (outro)

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

2 Comments on "Purtenance Announces New Album"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Anonymous Reader
1. sev7n writes:

i want to like this so bad but the vocals are just buried in there.

# Sep 11, 2013 @ 11:21 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
Anonymous Reader
2. The Devil's Rejects writes:

the vocals are making it hard for me to get this album

# Sep 11, 2013 @ 10:38 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.