"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Gang Green Streaming Track From "Drop The Needle: Boston Punk Anthology"

"Drop the Needle: Boston Punk Anthology" is a new compilation release of five old-school Boston punk, rock, and hardcore bands from the 1980's and 1990's. This collection will be released October 1st on Trev Records.

This release includes Gang Green's original 1985 version of the song "Let's Drink Some Beer." This rare studio recording has never been available on CD before and was co-written by Dicky Barrett from Jimmy Kimmel Live and The Mighty Mighty Bosstones fame. Today the song can be heard below, courtesy of AbsolutePunk.net.

Glen Stilphen, the man behind the anthology and Trev Records, commented" "The original version of 'Let's Drink Some Beer' was recorded in 1985 around the same time that the band recorded their most successful record, Another Wasted Night. The song was written by Dicky Barrett from The Mighty Mighty Bosstones and Jimmy Kimmel Live! along with Chris Doherty while they were both in a band called The Cheapskates in Boston.

"After The Cheapskates broke up in 1984, Chris brought the song over to Gang Green rehearsal. With its beer theme and high tempo, it was a perfect fit for the band. The drummer during this era of Gang Green was Walter Gustafson, one of the best in Boston during the 1980's. He is largely responsible for the explosiveness of this track. His drum break in the middle flows perfectly and actually has proven to be what actually makes this song work. Later attempts to record this track never came close to the soul of this original recording due to these drumming differences. The best tracks ever recorded by Gang Green were recorded with Walter on drums."

The track listing is:

1. Smegma and the Nunz - "Bourgeois Lad"
2. Smegma and the Nunz - "Joke's On You"
3. Gang Green (1985) - "The Original Let's Drink Some Beer"
4. Celebrity Death Certificate - "First Nickel"
5. Celebrity Death Certificate - "Dead Reckoning"
6. Scratch - "Waysde"
7. Scratch - "Centralia"
8. Mallet Head - "Give and Take"
9. Mallet Head - "Mother Sunshine" (Live)
10. Scratch - "El Monstro"
11. Smegma and the Nunz - "Insanity"
12. Smegma and the Nunz - "Napalm Sticks to Kids"
13. Smegma and the Nunz - "Nuns of Guatemala"

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Gang Green Streaming Track From Anthology"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.