"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Katatonia Releases New Lyric Video For "Buildings"

Photo of Katatonia

Band Photo: Katatonia (?)

Katatonia has posted another song online from "Dethroned & Uncrowned," which is a re-imagining of the band's latest album "Dead End Kings" (reviewed here).

Check out the new version of "Buildings" in the lyric video below, or you can hear the previously posted "The One You Are Looking For Is Not Here" at this location.

The following statement was also issued about the coming "Dethroned & Uncrowned" release:

"In August 2012 Katatonia released Dead End Kings, their ninth studio album. The album was the band's most successful to date and cemented the Swede's position as masters of sorrowful metal. Dead End Kings was released on the Peaceville label, the band's home for the past 14 years. In September 2013 the band return with Dethroned and Uncrowned, their first release on Kscope, Peaceville's sister label.

"Many of the ecstatic reviews the Dead End Kings received commented on the fact that the album marked another step in the band's journey towards a more progressive sound. Dethroned and Uncrowned allows them to explore these elements of the record further as they have reworked the album, creating new moods and textures while still staying truthful to the core of the songs.

"The album will be available on double LP, download and as 2 disc (CD & DVD-AV) digibook set, which also features a 5.1 surround mix of the album."

1. The Parting
2. The One You Are Looking For Is Not Here
3. Hypnone
4. The Racing Heart
5. Buildings
6. Leech
7. Ambitions
8. Undo You
9. Lethean
10. First Prayer
11. Dead Letters

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

2 Comments on "Katatonia Releases New Lyric Video"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Anonymous Reader
1. Help Katatonia Make This Crap Disapear writes:

I absolutely love these guys. I mean the trio of albums from Viva Emptiness to Night is the New Day are some of my favorite releases of the last ten years, but I'm also a free-thinking adult who refuses to polish turds and both of the preview tracks from this very, very unnecessary release are turds. They've basically cut and pasted Resnke's vocals on top of a self-indulgent, cheesy electronica. Sounds like something I'd hear walking into any Scandanavian convenience store.
No thank You, I'll save my money for the Viva Emptiness re-master/ re-issue.

# Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:22 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
Anonymous Reader
2. Crypto writes:

The above comment, while I respect the opinion, is looking at this from the wrong perspective. They merely subtracted layers from DEK to place the spotlight on the music within - embellishing parts where they felt necessary. It works beautifully, as one might expect, because Jonas' sublime vocal work really gets the attention it deserves, and the original Renkse / Nystrom compositions breathe on their own without the traditional Katatonia sonic landscape to influence their appeal.

# Sep 24, 2013 @ 1:45 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.