"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Ulver Reveals New Album "Messe I.X - IV.X"

After the all-covers release "Childhood's End" (reviewed here), Norway's celestial dark rock outfit Ulver has announced an October 8th, 2013 North American release date for upcoming album "Messe I.X - IV.X."

"Messe I.X - IV.X" will be available this fall as a vinyl, download, and CD, which also features a 5.1 surround mix of the album. Fans can pre-order the album through the Kscope webstore at this location. New song "Glamour Box (ostinati)" is streaming below. The track listing is as follows:

1. As Syrians Pour In, Lebanon Grapples With Ghosts of a Bloody Past
2. Shri Schneider
3. Glamour Box (ostinati)
4. Son Of Man
5. Noche Oscura Del Alma
6. Mother Of Mercy

The following press release was also issued about the album:

"The follow up to 2011's acclaimed Wars of the Roses, Messe I.X-VI.X is a different entity; reverberating 2007's somber and solemn Shadows of the Sun, with the band even going as far as to say it feels like a companion piece to it. The album also echoes the early electronic experiments of EPs 'Silence Teaches You How to Sing' and 'Silencing the Singing,' and is furthermore said to invoke the ghost of an abandoned Nattens madrigal renaissance-project.

"Six compositions altogether written, produced, recorded and mixed by Ulver, this time consisting of Ole Alexander Halstensgård, Kristoffer Rygg, Jørn H. Sværen and Tore Ylwizaker, with additional aid and advice from composer Martin Romberg, who also arranged the music for the 21 members of Tromsø Chamber Orchestra. The album also features the extraordinary talents of contemporary composers/musicians Ole-Henrik Moe and Kari Rønnekleiv.

"The Norwegian master has evolved over the past two decades to cross an astonishing body of disciplines, taking in ambient, avant-garde, electronic, psychedelic, prog and jazz influences. Now it is the electronic, atmospheric and classical sensibilities which come to the fore on Messe I.X - IV.X."

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Ulver Reveals New Album"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.