"some music was meant to stay underground..."

New Track "Firefly" Premiered By Fates Warning

Progressive metal act Fates Warning premiered the new track "Firefly" over at U.K.'s Classic Rock Magazine at this location (also in the player below). The song appears on the band's upcoming new release (and first in a decade) "Darkness In a Different Light," which is scheduled for release on September 30th (EU) and October 1st (North America) via InsideOutMusic. It was produced by guitarist Jim Matheos and mixed by long time Fates Warning engineer Phil Magnotti, while mastering was handled by Maor Appelbaum at Maor Appelbaum Mastering, California. The artwork for the album was designed by Conte di San Pietro.

The album will be available in the standard CD, as well as a 2CD Mediabook edition (Europe) and a Gatefold 2LP version with four bonus tracks.

Vocalist Ray Alder had the following comments about the song: "'Firefly' is very personal to me in more ways than one.... After I had written the melody for this song, I knew immediately what the title was going to be, as well as the subject, it just fit the mood. As for the subject, I'm pretty sure we've all felt this way at one time or another. Sometimes things just don't work out the way you think they would, but that's okay, that's part of life...We move on. Ironically, while recording "Firefly" in New Hampshire I was outside the studio late one night, and there they were, floating through the trees in the forest! I hadn't seen a single firefly for at least fifteen year since I had left my hometown of San Antonio TX, so I kinda took it as a sign, a sign of what, I don't know...
But very ironic nonetheless..."

The track listing for "Darkness In A Different Light" is as follows:

1. One Thousand Fires
2. Firefly
3. Desire
4. Falling
5. I Am
6. Lighthouse
7. Into The Black
8. Kneel And Obey
9. O Chloroform
10. And Yet It Moves

Bonus Tracks:

1. Firefly (Extended)
2. Falling Further
3. One (Live)
4. Life In Still Water (Live)

Check out "Firefly" here:

For upcoming tour dates, head over to this location.

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

2 Comments on "Fates Warning Premieres New Track 'Firefly'"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Anonymous Reader
1. DC writes:

Great to hear new Fates material... looking forward to the album release for a loooong time.... Song is everything you'd expect from FW... nuff said!

# Aug 20, 2013 @ 9:18 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
Anonymous Reader
2. scott g. ct. writes:

great f---ing song. next cd 1-2 years not 10 cant wait 10-1-13.

# Sep 5, 2013 @ 12:37 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.