"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Tony Iommi And Glenn Hughes Release '1996 DEP Sessions'

Photo of Black Sabbath

Band Photo: Black Sabbath (?)

Tony Iommi and Glenn Hughes offer proof in the form of the album 'The 1996 DEP Sessions' set for release by Sanctuary Records on September 28, 2004. The album is being released under the banner Iommi with Glenn Hughes.

'The 1996 DEP Sessions' features eight electrifying songs recorded by these two legends. Iommi is one of the most influential and widely recognized guitarists in the history of rock music, known from Black Sabbath. Hughes was a member of Trapeze before achieving worldwide superstardom as the co-lead vocalist and bass guitarist in Deep Purple in the mid-1970s. He has enjoyed a prolific and diverse solo career.

The two friends had worked together a decade before on 1986's 'Seventh Star' album, which the record company at the time credited to Black Sabbath Featuring Tony Iommi for marketing purposes. The underrated 'Seventh Star' certainly had its highlights, but it featured a then-contemporary 1980s sound. 'The 1996 DEP Sessions' are said to have a much grittier, forceful, timeless sound.

The eight tracks on 'The 1996 DEP Sessions' are:

01. Gone
02. From Another World
03. Don't You Tell Me
04. Don't Drag The River
05. Fine
06. Time Is The Healer
07. I'm Not The Same Man
08. It Falls Through Me

Source: doom-metal

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Tony Iommi And Glenn Hughes To Release Album"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.