"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Strangelight Announces Debut EP "9 Days"

Strangelight was forged in a small basement studio, and features members of various other collectives including Made Out Of Babies, Thursday, Red Sparowes, Pigs, United Nations, Goes Cube, Mussels and Kiss It Goodbye

While their past and current bands share little in common, Strangelight - Brendan Tobin, Cooper, Kenneth Appel, John Niccoli and Geoff Rickly - share an adoration for all things angular, discordant, rhythmic and driving. The following press release was issued about the new project:

"Drawing heavily upon DC visionaries, Amphetamine Reptile destroyers and Touch & Go noisemakers and named in honor of a track off Fugazi's last record, The Argument, Strangelight offers up all the signature makings of an early '90s Dischord band: Drums and bass rumble along like a tornado. The guitars stab their way out of the mix like broken glass. The fact that they're not distorted only makes them heavier. The vocals, mumble, shout, indict and accuse. Anyone with a deep record collection will understand that Strangelight aren't trying to reinvent the wheel, just taking the dust jackets off the old classics and melting the vinyl down for fun."

Strangelight will release debut EP, "9 Days," on October 1st, 2013 via Brooklyn-based Sacrament Music. The track listing is as follows:

1. Split And Divide
2. Mosh Party
3. High Five Hailstorm
4. Tiers Of Joy
5. Xmas
6. White Feather

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Strangelight Announces Debut EP"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.