"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Soulless Releases "Serpent Reaper" Music Video

"Serpent Reaper," the new video from Cleveland, Ohio-based thrashers Soulless, can now be seen below.

The song comes off the band's fourth full-length album, "In Death's Grip," which was released on April 23rd via Auburn Records. The video was directed by Kristoff Bates for Black Arts Media. It was filmed on location in Cleveland at the House Of Wills, an abandoned former funeral home built in the early 1900's.

"You have to see this place to believe it," says Auburn Records president Bill Peters. "It's a massive structure that was originally built in 1900 as a German opera house. 35 rooms in an abandoned funeral home with multiple basements, attics, hidden passageways, rotting floors, unexplained cold temperatures, no water or electricity, empty caskets and a crematorium. It looks as if the funeral home owners literally left in the middle of the night some 20 years ago. Many of their things are still there. This is officially the creepiest and craziest place I have ever been to in my life. The real deal in horror. Words cannot even begin to describe. Being locked up in that place for two full nights was a mind altering experience - let me tell you! The smell of evil is everywhere. The perfect location for a Soulless video shoot."

Asked his opinion about the strongest material on "In Death’s Grip," vocalist Jim Lippuci doesn’t hesitate, stating: "Serpent Reaper is one of my favorites. I utilized some lyrics I had kicking around, a ghost story. The name actually comes from a nickname that a friend of our guitarist Wayne (Richards) gave me. I have no idea what it means, but thought it sounded cool as Hell, so I incorporated it into the song. That one has all the stuff we like about Soulless. It has melody, slower parts, faster stuff. Most people agree, that’s one of the stronger songs on the album."

"In Death's Grip" was recorded by Soulless bassist David Johnson at Bad Back Studios in Cleveland, Ohio. The cover illustration was done by Matt Cavotta. Jim Lippucci handled the design and layout. The track listing is as follows:

01. Vindictae Dei (Intro)
02. The Crippler
03. Serpent Reaper
04. It Ends Tonight
05. Bleed You Dry
06. Bury The Cross
07. In Darkness Consumed
08. Death´s Icy Grip
09. Burnt Earth
10. Sinner Without A Soul
11. World Of Ruin
12. Take Command (Bonus Track)

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Soulless Releases 'Serpent Reaper' Video"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.