"some music was meant to stay underground..."

"Rock Until You Drop" DVD Release Announced By Raven

Veteran British/American heavy metal trio Raven will release "Rock Until You Drop - A Long Days Journey," a two-disc DVD, as a digipak via SPV/Steamhammer June 21st (Germany), June 24th (EU) and July 2nd (USA/Canada).

The release contains four 4.5 hours of concert footage from around the world, plus studio, backstage, interview footage with the band, the fans, musicians and producer. It tells the story of over three decades of trailblaizing metal mayhem!

From the well-documented early days as NWOBHM (New Wave of British Heavy Metal) frontrunners, Raven's albums "Rock Until You Drop", "Wiped Out" and "All For One" virtually invented both the speed metal and power metal genres — during the trailblazing USA tours of the '80s introducing the States to "athletic rock," as well as giving opening acts like Metallica and Anthrax its first tours, through the doldrums of the late '80s/early '90s when a grunge-obsessed media wrote off so many acts, Raven has consistently proved to be both survivors par excellence and in a genre of grim imitation shown that they are "the real thing". Where so many of their contemporaries have either faded creatively or become parodies of themselves, RAVEN have consistently pushed the envelope while retaining their unique sound and attack — both in the studio & in their true element, onstage!

In a music scene filled by clones nurtured with a cookie-cutter mentality, the unique personality, power and humor of the three band members has always shone through. The crazed vocals and bass playing of John Gallagher, the full frontal guitar assault of brother, Mark Gallagher, and the punishing polyrhythmic pounding of drummer Joe Hasselvander all combine to form a sonic battering ram unique in rock!

The track listing for the DVD is:

DVD 1: Documentary (approx. 190 min)

The whole story feat. Live Concert footage, interviews and photos

* Featuting 14 songs from 1982 up to present: "Tyrant Of The Airways", "Faster Than The Speed Of Light", "Crash Bang Wallop", "Take Control", "On And On" and many more

* Exclusive interviews with: Lars Ulrich (METALLICA), Michael Wagener (producer), Dee Snider (TWISTED SISTER), Chuck Billy (TESTAMENT), Dave Ellefson (MEGADETH) and many more

* Slideshow

* Photos throughout the years

DVD 2: Extras (approx. 90 min)

* 7 extra songs

* 5 full edits of songs: "Crazy World", "Hellpatrol", "Lambs To The Slaughter", "Architect of Fear" and many more

* 19 minutes of extra footage, interviews and studio outtakes

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

2 Comments on "Raven To Release 'Rock Until You Drop' DVD"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Anonymous Reader
1. Raven lunatic! MF O. writes:

Almost near!!! Raven is going to kick everybody asses!

# Jun 5, 2013 @ 6:51 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
Diamond Oz's avatar

Senior News Correspondent

2. Diamond Oz writes:

Looking forward to this. Love me some Raven.

# Jun 5, 2013 @ 7:24 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.