"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Sacred Gate Releasing New Album "Tides Of War"

"Tides of War," the second full-length from the German traditional heavy metal act Sacred Gate is being released this month through Metal on Metal Records.

The band created a concept album about the Battle of Thermopylae, where 300 Spartans and their allies fought for freedom against invading Persians. Not a surprising choice of subject, considering that two founding members (vocalist Jim Over and guitarist Nicko Nikolaidis) have Greek origins.

According to the label, "The new album is undoubtedly a more mature, more epic and more confident effort that shows the band moving a few steps away from their main influence (Iron Maiden), and crystallizing their own style, with strong, melodic but rough vocals, outstanding guitar work and rock solid rhythm section."

Three songs off the album, "Defenders (Valour Is in Our Blood)", "Gates of Fire" and "Spartan Killing Machine" are available for streaming at the Metal on Metal website. A promo clip is also available below. The "Tides of War" track listing is:

1. The Coming Storm
2. The Immortal One
3. Tides of War
4. Defenders (Valour Is in Our Blood)
5. Gates of Fire
6. Never to Return
7. The Final March
8. Spartan Killing Machine
9. Path to Glory
10. The Battle of Thermopylae

The album art was painted by J.P. Fournier (Pharaoh, Nightmare, Seven Witches, Edguy, Lonewolf, Avantasia, Steel Attack and others). During the recording sessions, Sacred Gate recorded one more song that is not included in the album, "Warriors of the World United" by Manoar." Here's what guitarist Nicko Nikolaidis had to say about it: "Sacred Gate has been influenced by Manowar and 'Warriors of the World United' is a mighty heavy song, a metal hymn we still have in our live set and each time we play this song it makes the hair on my neck stand up."

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Sacred Gate Releasing New Album"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.