"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Serj Tankian Announces "Orca" And "Jazz-iz Christ" Releases, New Tour Dates

Serj Tankian will be independently releasing two albums this summer through his own Serjical Strike Records.

"Orca," Tankian’s first true symphony, will be released on June 25th and the collaborative jazz infused album "Jazz-iz Christ" will be released on July 23rd.

Recorded in Linz, Austria in October of 2012, "Orca" was composed and demoed in Tankian’s home studio and fully realized after a successful Kickstarter campaign that helped fund a recording and debut performance at the Brucknerhaus with the Das Karussell Ensemble. With conductor Werner Steinmetz at the helm, the four acts of "Orca" mix influences from early 20th century composers with modern film composition dynamics showing influences ranging from Ennio Morricone to Philip Glass.

According to Tankian, “Orca is known as the killer whale, but is really a dark dolphin, a symbolism for human dichotomy.”

"Jazz-iz Christ" is Serj’s brainchild, but is a collaborative effort between many musicians that Tankian curated to be part of the group and self-titled album. Among others, there are contributions from pianist Tigran Hamasyan, flautist Valeri Tolstov, and trumpet player Tom Duprey.

Additional performances from Stewart Copeland and actor/musician Davis Alpay and Vincent Pedulla make for a unique collaboration. The 15 tracks that comprise "Jazz-iz Christ," a mostly instrumental effort except for 4 tracks, are an amalgam of progressive jazz, electronic, ethnic and even rock elements.

Both albums will be available worldwide on iTunes, Amazon, and other digital distributors and will be available for sale in various limited deluxe physical formats through Tankian’s official website.

Upon completion of System of a Down’s summer touring in August, Tankian will hang back in Europe until the commencement of his own solo orchestral tour dates that begin on September 19th in Kiev, Ukraine. The concert program will include all four acts of "Orca," but will also incorporate performances of many songs from "Elect The Dead Symphony." Confirmed tour dates below, with more to be announced in the days to come:

19 Sep 13 Thu Kiev Ukraine Ukraina Hall
21 Sep 13 Sat Yekaterinburg Russia Kosmos Hall
23 Sep 13 Mon Novosibirsk Russia DK Zheleznodorozhnik
25 Sep 13 Wed Krasnoyarsk Russia Philharmony
27 Sep 13 Fri Moscow Russia Crocus City Hall
28 Sep 13 Sat St. Petersburg Russia Orjktybyrsky Concert Hall
03 Oct 13 Thu Florence Italy Teatro Comunale
04 Oct 13 Fri Padova Italy Gran Teatro Geox
05 Oct 13 Sat Rome Italy Auditorium Parco Della Musica

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

2 Comments on "Serj Tankian Announces New Releases, Tour Dates"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Anonymous Reader
1. Matador writes:


# Apr 27, 2013 @ 12:06 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
Anonymous Reader
2. brokenf€ace writes:

serj rules whether its jazz,rock or cl€assic€al this guy is awesomly talented

# Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:02 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.