"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Space Mirrors Comments On New Album "The Other Gods"

Space Mirrors has checked in with the following statement about the band's upcoming "The Other Gods" album:

"The new Space Mirrors album 'The Other Gods' is the second in the 'Cosmic Horror' series inspired by the stories of H.P. Lovecraft. It is a wonderful blend of dynamic space rock, prog metal and classic hard rockwith influences not only from Hawkwind but also Blue Öyster Cult, Eloy and Black Sabbath! 'The Other Gods' shows a further development in terms of sound and musicians' line-up with the recruitment of Claudio Tirincanti (Blaze Bayley, Tim 'Ripper' Owens, etc.) to play all drums and Gabriel Monticello (Spaceseed, Albany Symphony Orchestra, etc.) to play bass on all songs.

"Sparky Simmons (Acid FM) recorded most of the guitars and Fabio Bartolini (Hate Profile) played guitars on one song. Martyr Lucifer delivered his best vocals’ performance to date. Bless (Hortus Animae) recorded some wonderful piano. Cyndee Lee Rule provided a violin string section and Dr. James Hodkinson (Shadowlight, Pre-Med) played mellotron and moog. The legendary Nik Turner (Hawkwind’s co-founder, Space Ritual, etc.) once more recorded sax and flute.

"Everything was done under the coordination of keyboardist Alisa Coral, the creator of Space Mirrors. Artwork and 12-page booklet were again created by Kevin Sommers. Space Mirrors again confirmed its international status by having in its ranks musicians from Italy, USA, UK and Russia!"

Alisa Coral comments about this record: "I think we have been able to successfully mix progressive space rock with classic hard rock in a modern suit here. We've got a very strong rhythm section with the same musicians playing on all the songs this time. Every musician gave it all to the recording and Martyr Lucifer really shows the great range of his voice. There is no programming and no triggered drums. Just old school real drumming, heavy riffs, hot leads, sax, flute, symphonic keyboards, spacey synth and vocals - all combined very nicely on this album."

The track listing is as follows:

1. Stranger in the Mirror
2. The Nameless City
3. She-Devil
4. Frozen City of Cubes and Cones
5. (The Case Of) Red Hook
6. Strange High House
7. Times Unknown
8. The Other Gods
9. Doom of Sarnath

Alisa Coral (Russia) - keyboards & synthesizers; voice (track 5)
Martyr Lucifer (Italy) - vocals; keyboards (track 1)
Gabriel Monticello (USA) - bass, upright bass
Sparky Simmons (USA) - rhythm and lead guitars, acoustic 12-string guitar
Claudio Tirincanti (Italy) - drums, percussion
Nik Turner (UK) - sax, flute (tracks 4, 6, 7)
Bless (Italy) - piano (track 7)
Cyndee Lee Rule (USA) - violin string section (track 4)
Fabio "Amon 418" Bartolini (Italy) - rhythm and lead guitars (track 1)
Dr. James Hodkinson (UK) - mellotron & moog (track 1)
Kevin Sommers (USA) - artwork design and lyrics assistance

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Space Mirrors Comments On New Album"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.