"some music was meant to stay underground..."


The World Premiere Of New Track "Tower Of Sin" By Crimson Dawn

Photo of Crimson Dawn

Band Photo: Crimson Dawn (?)

In 2005, Italy's Crimson Dawn was conceived by Drakkar guitarist/composer Dario Beretta and Crown of Autumn multi-musician Emanuele Rastelli. The band released one demo in 2006 entitled "A Dawn In Crimson." Since then, the band was "mothballed" until 2009 when Beretta decided to resurrect the once side project and make it into a full band with a doom edge.

Baretta switched to a seven string guitar and enlisted Betoken/Rapid Fire vocalist Antonio Pecere, Ex-All Soul's Day drummer Luca Lucchini, keyboardist Emanuele Laghi, guitarist Marco Rusconi (six string guitar) and bassist Alessandro Reggiani Romagnoli. With a solidified lineup, Crimson Dawn finished writing what would become the new LP "In Strange Aeons..." Though no release date has yet been announced and the band currently shopping the album to labels, the plan is for a release later this year.

In a world exclusive and very first taste of "In Strange Aeons...", the band presents the opening track "Tower of Sin," an epic doom track that evokes the spirit of Candlemass and Black Sabbath exclusively here on Metal Underground.com

Beretta describes the track: "I think it shows all my love for Dio-era Black Sabbath, Candlemass and so on. It's probably my favorite song of the album, as it's really heavy, with epic melodies and a great lead section. The whole band really delivers, here, and makes it a special song to me."

For the very first time, Metal Underground.com is proud to present "Tower Of Sin":

In addition, the album's track list and album cover are presented for the first time. In a special exclusive track-by-track analysis, Dario Beretta gives a glimpse of the entire album here:

1. Forge Of The Aeons

"An orchestral intro written by our keyboard player, Emanuele. It's an eerie but powerful piece. It has a feeling that kind of reminds me the soundtrack of the Lord Of The Rings movie in its darkest parts (think about the Mines Of Moria or the Uruk-Hai themes)."

2. Tower Of Sin

"The first actual song after the intro it's also the first I've written since deciding to take Crimson Dawn out of the mothballs and add a strong Doom element to it. I think it shows all my love for Dio-era Black Sabbath, Candlemass and so on. It's probably my favorite song of the album, as it's really heavy, with epic melodies and a great lead section. The whole band really delivers, here, and makes it a special song to me."

3. March Of The Masters Of Doom

"An up-tempo song that evokes the most epic side of the band. It is fun that the fastest song on the album is the only one with "Doom" in the title... and yes, that's on purpose. It has a very 'norse-epic' slow section after the solo (you'll get it when you hear the song!)."

4. Black Waters (I. Adrift; II. A Token of Wrath; III. Forgiveness; IV. Into the Haze)

"The first of two suites included in the album. It recounts the story of a man that is offered a chance to become an instrument of some vengeful gods after losing everything he held dear. It has four different parts but it also includes a repeating chorus, so it's more immediate than most suites. Musically, it is a slow, dramatic and melodic doom piece with a '70s flavor in some riffs."

5. The Haunted Monastery

"An intro to "Scourge Of The Dead": another orchestral piece by Emanuele, set in an haunted abbey with eerie monk chants to bring you into the dark fantasy world of the following song.

6. Scourge Of The Dead

"The second up-tempo song of the album. Very energetic, simple in riffs and structure, with Antonio providing most of the pathos with a great vocal performance. Probably the most direct song of the record. The lyrics are centered around an undead hunter who has all the qualities to become a mascot for the band..."

7. Crimson Dawn

"A 'Waltz of Doom' with strong medieval/folk influences. It's the only song from the first demo CD that has been kept almost identical, with minimal changes to better fit Antonio's vocal range, which is obviously far more impressive than mine. I also love the way Luca interpreted the drum parts, playing less to play more, so to say. The acoustic guitars have been played by our bass player Alessandro, who's also a trained classical guitarist."

8. Cosmic Death

"A very heavy, very doom song inspired by H. P. Lovecraft's Cthulhu Mythos. It's probably the darkest, creepiest song of the whole album. Some riffs are very '70s sounding and, in my opinion, make for a nice counterpoint to the heavier and more modern (relatively) sound of the chorus."

9. Siege At The Golden Citadel (I. The Coming Of Doom; II. Before the Storm; III. The Last Banquet; IV. Blood On the Sand; V. Never To Fall)

"The second suite of the album. Quite different from the version featured in the original Crimson Dawn demo. It's the ideal song to close the record (before the bonus track) because in its nine and a half minutes it manages to put together everything Crimson Dawn stands for: it has up-tempo parts, a slow, epic-doom chorus, 70's prog an medieval folk inserts, it has it all. An ambitious piece that closes this first opus from the band while propelling it to the future."

10. Bonus Track - Surprise cover!

"Can't spoil the surprise now, can we?"

The cover artwork can be seen here:

Crimson Dawn (left to right in photo above) is:

Emanuele Laghi: Keyboards
Alessandro Reggiani Romagnoli: Bass
Luca Lucchini (back): Drums
Antonio Pecere (front): Lead Vocals
Dario Beretta: 7 String Guitar, Background Vocals
Marco Rusconi: 6 Strings Guitar

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Crimson Dawn Streams 'Tower Of Sin'"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.