"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Aborym Reveals Details On New Double Album "Dirty"

Details of "Dirty," the 6th full-length album from Italo-Norwegian industrial/electro extreme metallers Aborym, have now been announced.

The 10-track double album (cover available below) will be available in digipak, jewel case, and gatefold double LP formats, and is set for release via Agonia Records this coming May 28th in Europe and June 11th in the USA/North America.

"Dirty" was recorded at the Fear No One Studios in Italy with Emiliano Natali, reprising his sound engineer role from the band’s "Psychogrotesque" album, and it was helmed by Marc Urselli of New York’s Eastside Sound Studio. The electronic part of the album is engineered by D. Loop (Kebabtraume, Limbo). R.G. Narchost (Stormcrow, Demon's Shade, Drowning Ashes) created "The Spiral shaped chamber" custom sounds library for the band. Artwork for the album was handled by Aboryms Fabban.

The first CD of the album features new material, while the second CD features two tracks from previous albums, which have been completely re-arranged and re-recorded, covers of tracks by Iron Maiden, Pink Floyd, and Nine Inch Nails, and a previously unreleased track performed by both musicians and several fans. The song was written by Alberto Penzin (CO2, ex-Schizo) and was spliced together from all the different sources. The full track listing is as follows:

CD 1
1. Irreversible Crisis
2. Across the Universe
3. Dirty
4. Bleedthrough
5. Raped by Daddy
6. I don’t Know
7. The Factory of Death
8. Helter Skelter Youth
9. Face the Reptile
10. The Day the Sun Stopped Shining

1. Fire Walk With Us (new version originally released on “Fire Walk With Us”)
2. Roma Divina Urbs (new version originally released on “Kali Yuga Bizarre”)
3. Hallowed Be Thy Name (Iron Maiden Cover)
4. Comfortably Numb (Pink Floyd Cover)
5. Hurt (Nine Inch Nails Cover)
6. Need for limited loss (new track)

Guitarist Paolo Pieri commented: "This is definitely the most schizoid and experimental Aborymwork so far. This time we focused on pushing the boundaries of electronic music one step forward while retaining the ruthless brutality of extreme metal in a way totally ahead of the times."

Drummer Bard “Faust” Eithun added: “This time around Aborym push everything further; the electronic and industrial elements have never been so present. Rest assured, no matter how sick, twisted and beyond everything it sounds, it is still Aborym.”

The last word falls to founder Fabban: “I believe that 'Dirty' represents the best material ever written by Aborym from 1992 until today. Given that it wasn’t that easy to go beyond an album such as 'Psychogrotesque,' I strongly believe that this time we did exceed every limit and every concept of experimentation - manipulating all the clichès of extreme metal, industrial or electronic music and pushing together elements that are so far away from each other. As a result, we achieved something really innovative, powerful, refined and of a really high standard. The quality of sounds, the nuances, the details passing through the recording quality; the quality of the machines that we used and abused, the quality of the lyrics, the artwork and the performances of each of us and of all the people who have worked with us, are definitely all at the top.

"'Dirty' is a record that simply expands the range of our listeners, it’s an album that everyone can enjoy and really appreciate. I am personally very excited and, at the same time, really proud of what you’ll soon be able to listen to. We worked so hard for the past two years on this double album that we have no words to really explain how excited we are to finally see it released. It’s an album that will further change the history of extreme music. Of that I have no doubt.”

 photo aborymcov_zps5f8f58f9.jpg

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Aborym Reveals 'Dirty' Details"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.