"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Zolle To Release Self-Titled Album Through Supernatural Cat

Supernatural Cat, the Italian underground label run by Malleus Rock Art Lab (the artist collective featuring two members of the psychedelic doom trio Ufomammut) has confirmed its next release. The label comments:

"Zolle, self-proclaimed rednecks, are on the loose and ready to run amok with the release of their self-titled debut album, an ode to backwoods ways of living. They might not take themselves too seriously but don’t be fooled, their music is much more intense than a lazy hayride; brace yourself for a ferocious, rampant record of thunderous riffs and robust drum blasts. Formed by Marcello Lan (Morkobot), who lays down the meaty riffs, and counterpart Stefano who beefs things up on drums and xylophone, the duo commenced work on their debut album throughout the summer of 2012, and in just two months they had the music ready to commit to tape.

"Their self-titled album was recorded in September of the same year by Michelangelo Roberti at Mizkey Studio (Morkobot) and mastered by Giovanni Versari (Zu, Morkobot, OvO, One Dimensional Man). It was almost all played live, with overdubs reduced to the bone. The drums are of considerable proportion and made of copper and the amplifier an old digital model of the ’50s which makes for a mammoth sound. Finally, Urlo from Ufomammut and Roberto Rizzo of Quasiviri/Runi add synth seasoning to flesh out the album.

"The resulting album is thunderously heavy, the short songs are direct and song titles are entrenched in references to redneck living. For example 'Mayale' is a play on the Italian word for pig [Maiale] but is written like 'Maya' to reflect the sacred image of the Mayan pig face adorning the album’s cover. Similarly, 'Heavy Letam' is suggestive of 'Letame' -- which means manure in Italian -- resulting in an anagram of 'heavy metal.'"

Supernatural Cat will set "Zolle" loose on May 13th. For early insight into what the band is about, check out this visual trailer below.

The track listing is as follows:

1. Trakthor
2. LeeQuame
3. Forko
4. Mayale
5. Man Ja To Ja!
6. Melicow
7. Heavy Letam
8. Weetellah
9. Trynchatowak
10. Moongitruce

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Zolle To Release Self-Titled Album"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.