"some music was meant to stay underground..."

The Chasm Complete New Album "The Spell Of Retribution"

Mexican deathcult metal lords The Chasm have completed work on their new album, entitled "The Spell Of Retribution" (view cover). Here is a report from Earache Records' website:

Comprising 10 tracks with a running time of over 66 minutes, "The Spell of Retribution" represents The Chasm's most adventurous and ambitious project to date, and firmly sets them apart from the rest of the current Death Metal scene by incorporating purposely lengthy songs dealing with intricate concepts close to the heart of frontman Daniel Corchado.

Recorded at Soto Sound Studios in Illinois and then mixed by Corchado at Lux Inframundis, the album's recording was not without its problems, including at one point a studio fire that set the schedule back and led to the album taking longer than anticipated to complete.

Commenting on the completion of his band's latest opus, Corchado says:

We are definitely very proud to announce the completion of this new chapter, the 7th, in The Chasm's odyssey, after almost 3 months of hard work in the studio and a schedule full of delays and problems, "The Spell of Retribution" has reached the end of it's creative/constructive journey. Armed with a thick, darkened/heavy production, interwoven with what surely is our most complex and destructive material, "The Spell..." is for sure a lengthy and memorable piece of Darkened Heavy Metal that praises Death and certainly is not a one dimensional album, like so many infecting the scene nowadays.

We can assure the true believers of this Cult of Death, and to any fan and follower of this movement, who still feels the darkened flame of this music, that when you hear "The Spell..." you'll encounter a devastating experience, one full of unexpected turns and musical atmospheres presenting controlled chaos and the intense feeling of revenge and inner victory...

Here is the tracklisting for the album:

01. From The Curse, A Scourge...
02. The Omnipotent Codex
03. Conqueror & Warlord
04. Manifest My Intervention
05. Fortress
06. Retribution Of The Lost Years (I, The Pastfinder III)
07. Conjuring The New Apocalypse
08. The Eclipse: Monument To The Empire
I) Sentence And Burden
II) The Voyage
III) The Restitution
09. Remains Of The Covenant
10. Eternal Cycle Of Delusion

Source: Metal Eater

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "The Chasm Complete New Album"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.