"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Lycosa Announces Self-Titled EP Release

Innervenus Music is proud to announce the CD release a self-titled EP from "old fashioned steel town metal" band Lycosa on February 12th, 2013. The EP is available for streaming through the widget below, and Innervenus Music also commented on the band:

"Lycosa is a spontaneous concoction of beer, music, and friends. Formed in October 2010 by vocalist Leech and drummer Chris (Iron Crown, ex-Evil Machine, ex-Reducer), who got together with a couple other friends and started writing and practicing in Chris's basement. Within a few weeks, his wife Amy (Motorpsychos, Molasses Barge, ex-Reducer) joined on bass. The band played their first show in July 2011, working with a few different guitarists until Tree became the permanent replacement at that position in early 2012.

"With lyrics that focus on story-telling (such as in opening track 'Barbara,' inspired by the Pittsburgh-based cult classic film Night of the Living Dead), Leech's vocals typically fall into the categories of grind or brutal death metal (with influences including Devourment, Prostitute Disfigurement, Terminally Your Aborted Ghost), but don't just expect to hear the same old slams-and-squeals. The band draws inspiration from a wide array of sources -- guitar riffs and solos in the style of old-school thrash such as Megadeth, and a rhythm section rooted in Melvins/Eyehategod-style sludge, just to name a few -- which allows for plenty of variation between their songs.

"Mostly, though, this is a quartet that's all about FUN -- they have a great chemistry together because they started out as good friends before being bandmates, and they still are: spending time hanging out, drinking beer, going to shows together, etc. -- and above all, not taking themselves too serious. They call themselves serious musicians, but with the souls of clowns."

The track listing is as follows:

1. Barbara 04:03
2. Double Barrel 03:48
3. Circles 03:59
4. Did We Have Sex? 04:19
5. 24 Becomes 0 03:37

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Lycosa Announces Self-Titled EP"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.