"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Pristina Announces "Hopeless Godless" Album Release

Photo of Pristina

Band Photo: Pristina (?)

"Hopeless Godless," the second full-length album by Pristina, is set for a February 26th release on The Path Less Traveled Records.

From Connecticut, Pristina grabbed the underground's ear in 2010 with the release of debut full-length, "The Drought (ov Salt and Sorrow)," released on French label Trendkill. Revolver Magazine described the band's sound as "a chaotic surge of hardcore intimidation, atonal riff bombardment, and sound collage psych ops" and Exclaim! Magazine depicted it as "explosive, original, and downright gargantuan." The following press release was issued about the new album:

"In 2013 Pristina re-emerges after a year off the grid, a year which vocalist/bassist Brendan K Duff calls 'the darkest period of my life.' Whatever demons Duff fought during this time, they have been immortalized in the form of a new album 'Hopeless Godless.' Rhythmically punishing, soaked in absolute despair, 'Hopeless Godless' is an immersion in darkness. The closest musical reference points can be found in metallic hardcore greats like Bloodlet, Starkweather, and Converge, but 'Hopeless Godless' is such a personal account of pain, it is wholly its own thing."

Says Duff: "Hopeless Godless was a very difficult record to make, emotionally. The album is about the darkest period of my life. It is a very deliberate departure from our last album. The Drought (ov Salt and Sorrow) was fairly 'epic'. This one is raw and straight ahead."

Pristina consists of Duff, guitarist Mike Rabtoy, and drummer Mike Banfield. "Hopeless Godless" was recorded, mixed, and mastered by Duff and Rabtoy at Stu Stu Studio in Meriden, CT. Comprised of six songs, clocking in at 35 minutes, the track list is as follows:

1. The Motherfucker
2. The Black Syph
3. The Immoralist
4. Darker (Omega)
5. Hopeless Godless
6. Malarial

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Pristina Announces 'Hopeless Godless' Release"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.