"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Dead Horse Trauma Reveals Details On New Album "Vi-Ops"

Photo of Dead Horse Trauma

Band Photo: Dead Horse Trauma (?)

Iowa act Dead Horse Trauma will release new album "Vi-Ops" on April 20th, 2013. "Vi-Ops" will be independently released via 660 Records and distributed by THC: MUSIC via Ingrooves/Fontana. The album was recorded at 660 Studios inside the band's native Des Moines with producers Donnie Mengwasser (Curse of Hail, Mindrite, The Boston Hellmask) and Ari Mihalopoulos (Destrophy and Otep) at the helm.

Dead Horse Trauma is sharing a free download of "Vi-Ops" track "Coercion," at this location, giving listeners a sneak peak at the band's evolution since previous release, 2011’s "Tellus Hodiernus Caducus" (reviewed here).

The bands second full-length album, "THC," debuted at #6 on CMJ’s “Most Added” chart, and has received national airplay through college and commercial stations nationwide. Sold nationwide by the Hot Topic chain, the first single “Disbelief” featured Myke Terry (of Bury Your Dead fame).

Recorded in late 2012, "Vi-Ops" takes Dead Horse Trauma to a new level of creativity and overall sound. The band states, “We’ve worked harder than ever and the results are obvious that this will be our best release to date; all killer and no filler. Six songs that are going to grab you and move you, whether its emotionally or physically. This release has bigger riffs, bigger vocals, and an overall highly polished and original sound.”

Dead Horse Trauma has confirmed the band will be kicking off a Spring tour in February 2013 to debut "Vi-Ops" tracks to audiences throughout the Midwest. The group has also confirmed a 4/20 hometown CD release celebration with special guests Nuisance (MN) and Pinwheel (MN). Vocalist and songwriter Eric Davidson, states “We're going to bring them the best Dead Horse Trauma show they've ever seen. Get ready. It begins soon…"

The track listing for "Vi-Ops" is as follows:

1. The Murder of Crows
2. Mockingbird
3. Reckoning Day
4. The Virus
5. Coercion
6. The Head of The Snake
7. VDA
8. Menticide
9. Daffodils

 photo dhtcov_zps096d5643.jpg

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

1 Comment on "Dead Horse Trauma Reveals New Album Details"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Anonymous Reader
1. Beth writes:

Can't wait !!! Thanks for the great article ,But one ? Why are you guys still using the bands OLD photo still ?

# Jan 28, 2013 @ 9:22 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.